Name the Different Types of Teeth and Their Functions

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: September 25th, 2023

The four types of teeth which are incisors, canines, premolars, and molars. Incisors are for cutting, canines for tearing, premolars for crushing and grinding, and molars for grinding and chewing. Teeth play an essential role in the digestion process, as they are responsible for breaking down food into smaller particles that can be easily swallowed and digested. Different types of teeth are present in the human mouth, each with a unique shape and function. Understanding the types of teeth and their functions is crucial for maintaining good oral health and ensuring proper digestion.

Types of Teeth

Teeth are calcified structures that are embedded in the jaws and are used for biting and chewing food. They are composed of two main parts, the crown, and the root. The crown is the visible part of the tooth that is above the gum line, while the root is the part that is embedded in the jawbone.

There are four different types of teeth which are listed below. Each type of tooth is designed to perform a specific function.

  1. Incisors
  2. Canines
  3. Premolars
  4. Molars

Functions of Different Types of Teeth

Teeth play a crucial role in the digestive process and overall well-being of an individual. Some of the functions of teeth include:

  • Incisors: Incisors are the eight teeth located at the front of the mouth, four in the upper jaw and four in the lower jaw. They are used for biting and cutting food into smaller pieces.
  • Canines: Canines are the four teeth located next to the incisors, two in the upper jaw and two in the lower jaw. They are pointed and are used for tearing and shredding food.
  • Premolars: Premolars are located between the canines and molars. They are used for crushing and grinding food. There are eight premolars in total, four in the upper jaw and four in the lower jaw.
  • Molars: Molars are the largest teeth and are located at the back of the mouth. They are used for grinding and crushing food, and there are twelve molars in total, six in the upper jaw and six in the lower jaw.


Name the Different Types of Teeth and their Functions

There are four types of teeth namely, Canines, Incisors, Premolars, and Molars. Incisors and canines are used to bite and tear food into smaller pieces, while premolars and molars are used for grinding and crushing food. Additionally, teeth are important for maintaining the shape of the mouth, supporting the lips and cheeks, and assisting in speech.

Related Questions:

SSC & Railway

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium