How Many States in India have a Bicameral Legislature?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: September 25th, 2023

There are 6 states in India that have a bicameral legislature. A state legislature that follows both Assembly and Council is known as a bicameral legislature. There are only six states in India which have this type of legislature. The Indian states with bicameral legislature include Odisha, Bihar, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Telangana, and Uttar Pradesh. Before Jammu and Kashmir became a union territory, there used to be 7 states with a bicameral legislature in India.

States in India with Bicameral Legislature

States in India with Bicameral Legislature have two types of legislatures. The majority of Indian states have a Legislative Assembly. This system is known as the unicameral legislature. However, 6 states in India have both Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council. This system is called the bicameral legislature.

The six states in India with Bicameral Legislature are as follows.

  • Bihar
  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Maharashtra
  • Karnataka
  • Telangana
  • Odisha
  • Uttar Pradesh

Bicameral Legislature

Bicameral Legislature is a type of government with Two Houses in the legislature. This system of government dates back to 17th-century England and then spread to the United States and the rest of the Europe in 18th century.

Normally, the Indian Parliament consists of two houses that are Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. Most states in India have a further single body in it known as Vidhan Sabha or State Legislative Assembly. However, there are few states in India that have a body that is in addition to Vidhan Sabha, also known as Vidhan Parishad.

It refers to the Legislative Council which is in the upper house of the State Legislature. Out of all the members, one-sixth have knowledge of arts and culture, which are selected by the Governor. Legislative Council has limited powers only. Constitution has not given it any power over the formation of a government or the passing of money bills.


How many states in India have a bicameral legislature?

There are six states in India with a bicameral legislature. These states include Odisha, Karnataka, Bihar, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Telangana, and Uttar Pradesh. There used to be 7 states with bicameral legislature in India before Jammu and Kashmir became union territory. Such states have both State Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council. 

Related Questions:

SSC & Railway

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium