SSC CHSL Full Form: What is SSC CHSL Full Form?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: September 25th, 2023

SSC CHSL full form stands for Staff Selection Commission Combined Higher Secondary Level. The Commission conducts the SSC CHSL exam every year to recruit candidates for various subordinate services to the departments and ministries in the Indian Government. It is a highly sought-after examination that sees a huge turnout with lakhs of applicants each year participating in the selection process. Read further to learn about the SSC CHSL full form and much more.

What is SSC CHSL Full Form

As mentioned above, the SSC CHSL full form is Staff Selection Commission Combined Higher Secondary Level, which is a national-level examination that is conducted every year by the Commission. The examination is basically for the students who have passed 12th standard from a recognized board or have an equivalent qualification. The number of aspirants who apply for the exam is extremely high and the selection process involves 2 tiers – CBT, and CBT & Skill Test.

SSC CHSL Full Form: Overview



Exam name


Exam Conducting Authority

 Staff Selection Commission (SSC)

SSC CHSL Full Form

Staff Selection Commission Combined Higher Secondary Level Examination

Eligibility Criteria

Age limit – 18 to 27 years

Educational Qualification – 10+2 passed

Selection Process

Tier 1: Objective-type computer-based examination (CBE)

Tier 2: Objective-type CBE and Skill test

Exam mode


Also, check out other full forms:

SSC CHSL Eligibility

If you are interested in applying for SSC CHSL, you must check whether you satisfy the entire SSC CHSL eligibility or not. There are three basic conditions that need to be fulfilled in order to be eligible for Combined Higher Secondary Level and they are as follows:

  • Age limit
  • Nationality/Citizenship
  • Educational Qualification

SSC CHSL Exam Pattern

The SSC CHSL exam pattern includes Tier 1 and Tier 2. These three tiers are basically an online computer-based test, a descriptive test, and a skill test. Let’s elaborate on the 3 tiers to understand what they constitute.

Tier 1– The exam consists of 25 questions from a total of 4 subjects that include English, Maths, General Knowledge, and Logical Reasoning. Candidates will get 60 minutes to complete the test and marks will be awarded for each right answer. A negative marking of 0.50 marks is also applicable.

Tier 2– This stage is further divided into 2 sessions. Session-I will include conducting Section-I, Section II and Module-I of Section III which is computer knowledge module. On the other hand, Session II will include conducting Module-II of Section III which is skill test/typing test for the post of DEOs/ LDC/ JSA.

There will be a negative marking of 1 mark in session 1 and the questions will be provided in both Hindi and English language.

Also, check out SSC CHSL Syllabus


As you know SSC CHSL full form, let’s know about the posts included under Combined Higher Secondary Level Examination. There are different posts listed this exam such as:

  • Data Entry Operators
  • Lower Divisional Clerk/Junior Secretariat Assistant

Although the eligibility is the same for all the posts, the responsibilities and SSC CHSL Salary will be different for all the posts. Hence, candidates must be familiar with the SSC CHSL Job Profile and know whether they will be able to fulfill their roles and responsibilities or not.

SSC CHSL Full Form in Hindi

SSC CHSL Full Form स्टाफ सिलेक्शन कमीशन कंबाइंड हायर सेकेंडरी लेवल होता है। आयोग भारत सरकार के विभागों और मंत्रालयों में विभिन्न अधीनस्थ सेवाओं के लिए उम्मीदवारों की भर्ती के लिए हर साल एसएससी सीएचएसएल परीक्षा आयोजित करता है। यह एक अत्यधिक मांग वाली परीक्षा है जिसमें हर साल लाखों आवेदकों की चयन प्रक्रिया में भाग लेने के साथ भारी मतदान होता है।


Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium