Write Indian States and Capitals List in Alphabetical Order

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: September 25th, 2023

Writing Indian States and Capitals list in alphabetical order makes it easier to understand and memorize. In India, there are 28 states and 8 Union Territories. The states and UTs are further divided into districts and cities. Each state has a unique culture, language, and identity. Similarly, each capital city has its own distinct characteristics and significance. Let’s list the states and their capitals in alphabetical order.

Indian States and their Capitals

India is a vast country with 28 states and 8 union territories, each with its unique cultural, historical, and geographical significance. The states and union territories of India are further divided into districts and sub-districts. Every state has a capital city that serves as the administrative, political, and cultural center of the state.

The capitals of India’s states and union territories include Mumbai in Maharashtra, Kolkata in West Bengal, Bengaluru in Karnataka, Chennai in Tamil Nadu, Hyderabad in Telangana, Jaipur in Rajasthan, and many more. These capital cities are not only important for their administrative significance but also for their rich history, diverse culture, and unique tourist attractions.

Indian States and Capitals List in Alphabetical Order

  1. Andhra Pradesh – Amaravati
  2. Arunachal Pradesh – Itanagar
  3. Assam – Dispur
  4. Bihar- Patna
  5. Chhattisgarh- Raipur
  6. Goa- Panaji
  7. Gujarat- Gandhinagar
  8. Haryana – Chandigarh
  9. Himachal Pradesh – Shimla
  10. Jharkhand -Ranchi
  11. Karnataka- Bengaluru
  12. Kerala – Thiruvananthapuram
  13. Madhya Pradesh- Bhopal
  14. Maharashtra- Mumbai
  15. Manipur- Imphal
  16. Meghalaya- Shillong
  17. Mizoram- Aizawl
  18. Nagaland- Kohima
  19. Odisha- Bhubaneswar
  20. Punjab- Chandigarh
  21. Rajasthan- Jaipur
  22. Sikkim- Gangtok
  23. Tamil Nadu- Chennai
  24. Telangana- Hyderabad
  25. Tripura- Agartala
  26. Uttar Pradesh- Lucknow
  27. Uttarakhand- Dehradun
  28. West Bengal- Kolkata


Write Indian States and Capitals List in Alphabetical Order

India is a federal union that consists of 28 states along with 8 Union Territories. The states have their own capital cities and are further divided into smaller districts. Check out the Indian states and their capitals listed in alphabetical order above.

Related Questions:

SSC & Railway

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium