How Many Tier in SSC CGL 2023?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: September 25th, 2023

How many tiers are in SSC CGL 2023? Candidates who have just begun preparing for SSC CGL exam get often confused about the Tiers in SSC CGL exam. If you are one of them, fret not, as here we have explained how many tiers in SSC CGL are. Along with the official notification, the officials have explained all the stages of SSC CGL Selection Process. Candidates taking the exam must be familiar with these stages. They can review the procedure by visiting the official website. In this post, we have discussed the number of tiers in SSC CGL 2023 in detail.

How many Tiers in SSC CGL 2023?

There are 2 tiers in the SSC CGL 2023 examination. The SSC CGL Tier 1 and Tier 2 examinations both are computer-based. he SSC calls candidates for document verification at the end of both stages. To be chosen for a variety of roles under SSC CGL, candidates must pass all tiers of the selection process. To learn more, keep reading! 

SSC CGL Selection Process 2023

Candidates who have registered for or intend to register for the SSC CGL must go through the selection process. They will benefit from knowing the SSC CGL selection process while they study for the exam. The two tiers of SSC CGL are as follows:

  • Tier I – Computer-based Examination
  • Tier II – Computer-based Examination

Tier 2 is further divided into 3 phases- Paper 1, Paper 2, and Paper 3. Paper 1 will be compulsory for all the post, whereas, Paper 2 will be mandatory for the candidates who applied for Junior Statistical Officer and Paper 3 for Assistant Audit Officer/ Assistant Accounts Officer.

SSC CGL Exam Pattern

Below, we have mentioned SSC CGL Exam Pattern for tier 1 and tier 2 exams. This will facilitate a further enhanced understanding of the different tiers of SSC CGL. Check out the exam pattern for all tiers and phases of the exam below.

Tier 1 Exam Pattern

  • Four sections make up the SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam: Reasoning, General Awareness, Quantitative Aptitude, and English Language.
  • There are 25 questions in each section, each worth 2 marks, for a total of 50 marks in each section.
  • There is a negative marking of 0.50 marks each question and a total time limit of 60 minutes.

Thus, the total marks can be determined as follows:

Total Marks = Number of Correct Answers * 2 – Number of Incorrect Answers * 0.50. View more details in the table below.


No. of Questions

Maximum Marks





60 minutes

General Awareness



Quantitative Aptitude



English Comprehension






SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam Pattern

  • There are 3 papers in the SSC CGL Tier-2 Examination, of which 1 paper is required for all posts.
  • While Paper 3 is for the Asst. Audit Officer Gazetted Group B Post, Paper 2 is for the Statistical Investigator Gr. II & Compiler Post.
  • Candidates can calculate their marks by using the formula mentioned below.
    Total Marks: Correct Questions * 3 + Incorrect Questions * 1

Paper 1 SSC CGL Tier 2

In Paper 1, each question will carry the weightage of 3 marks and one mark will be deducted for every wrong answer.

Sections Module Subject No. of Questions Maximum Marks Time Allotted
Section 1 Module-I Mathematical Abilities 30 90 1 hour
Module-II Reasoning and General Intelligence 30 90
Section 2 Module-I English Language and Comprehension 45 135 1 hour
Module-II General Awareness 25 75
Section 3 Module-I Computer Knowledge Test 20 60 15 minutes
Module-II Data Entry Speed Test 2000 Key Impressions 15 minutes
Total 150 450

Paper 2 & 3 SSC CGL Tier 2

In Paper 2 & 3, each question will carry the weightage of 2 marks and 0.50 marks will be deducted for every wrong answer.

Paper Section No. of question Maximum Marks Duration
Paper II Statistics 100 200 2 hours
Paper III General Studies (Finance and Economics) 100 200 2 hours


DEST/CPT is introduced under the SSC CGL selection process 2023 by scrapping interviews, hence the basic objective of this component is to check the Computer Professiency and typing skills of a candidate which is much necessary for a person to serve any government department all over India. CPT/DEST required for the posts are given below. 

Skill Test

For the posts of

Computer Proficiency Test (CPT)

  • Assistant Section Officer (CSS), Assistant Section Officer (MEA) Assistant in Serious Fraud Investigation Office (SFIO) under M/o Corporate Affairs,
    Assistant (GSI) in the Ministry of Mines
  • Inspector (Central Excise)
  • Inspector (Preventive Officer)
  • Inspector (Examiner)


  • Tax Assistant (CBDT & CBEC)

Since, now you are aware of how many tiers in SSC CGL, you can begin your preparation in a strategic manner and clear the exam with much ease.

SSC & Railway

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium