Trick to Remember the Names of All Sikh Gurus and Their Achievements

By Ashwini Shivhare|Updated : November 12th, 2022

In this article, we are discussing 10 Sikh Gurus and their contributions. This is an important topic from an exam point of view for upcoming exams including SSC CGL/ CHSL/ MTS/ GD Constable etc.

Sikhism: Introduction

Sikhism is derived from Sikh, ‘Sikh’ is a Sanskrit word that means ‘disciple’. The era of Sikhism started in 1469, through the birth of Guru Nanak Dev in 1469, and ended in human form with the death of Guru Govind Singh in 1708. With about 25 million Sikhs worldwide, Sikhism is the world's fifth-largest religion. We have provided the complete list and details of 10 Gurus along with the tricks to remember them.

Table of Content

Complete List 10 Sikh Gurus

Guru Nanak Dev (1469 - 1539)

  • He was the first of all the gurus of Sikh, he founded the Sikh religion, introducing the concept of one God
  • He started the Guru Ka Langar. As per Sikh religion, langar is a term that refers to a common kitchen/ community kitchen where food is served to everyone for free without any discrimination of caste, religion, color, gender, and class
  • He was contemporary of Babur (Mughal Emperor)
  • He emphasized the equality of women and rejected the path of renunciation
  • His teachings are composed in Adi Granth or Granth Sahib.

Guru Angad (1538 - 1552)

  • He was the second of all Gurus
  • Invented a new script called Guru-Mukhi viz. written form of Punjabi script
  • Played an instrumental role in the popularization and expansion of the system of Guru ka Langar

Guru Amardas (1552 - 1574)

  • He introduced the Anand Karaj Marriage ceremony for Sikhs, which was done to replace the Hindu form
  • Strengthened Guru ka Langar tradition
  • Established the Piri and Maji system of religious mission for women and men, respectively
  • Abolished the custom of Sati and Purdah system among the Sikhs
  • He was contemporary of Akbar (Mughal Emperor)

Guru Ramdas (1574 - 1581)

  • He was the fourth Guru of all Gurus
  • Founded Amritsar in 1577 on the land granted by Akbar
  • Started the construction of Golden Temple/ Swarna Mandir at Amritsar

Guru Arjun Dev (1581 - 1606)

  • Composed Adi Granth in 1604. Adi Granth is a scripture of Sikhs
  • Completed the construction of Golden Temple/ Sri Darbar Sahib
  • founded the town of Tarn Taran Sahib which is Goindwal Sahib
  • He requested Mian Mir (Muslim Sufi) to lay the cornerstone of Harmandir Sahib
  • Executed by Jahangir on charges of helping prince Khusrau with money and prayer
  • He was acclaimed as Shaheedan-de-Sartaj (The crown of martyrs)

Guru Hargovind (1606 - 1645)

  • Son of Guru Arjan Dev
  • Transformed the Sikh into a military community. He was known as ‘Soldier Saint’
  • He wages wars against Jahangir and Shah Jahan (Mughal Emperors)
  • Established Akal Takht and fortified Amritsar

Guru Har Rai (1645 - 1661)

  • He avoided any conflict with Aurangzeb (Mughal Emperor) and devoted most of his efforts to missionary work
  • Though he was a man of peace, however, he never disbanded the armed Sikh warriors
  • He gave shelter to Shah Jahan eldest son, Dara Shikoh, who was later tormented by Aurangzeb

Guru Har Kishan (1661 - 1664)

  • He was the youngest of all Sikh Gurus. He was given the title of Guru at the age of five
  • He was summoned to Delhi by Aurangzeb under framed charges of anti-Islamic blasphemy

Guru Teg Bahadur (1664 - 1675)

  • He established the town of Anandpur
  • He was executed at Delhi by Aurangazeb for not embracing Islam.
  • He called himself "Sachcha Badshah"

Guru Govind Singh (1675 - 1708)

  • He was son of Guru Tegh Bahadur. He became Guru after the martyrdom of his father
  • He founded a warrior community known as Khalsa in 1699. Under Khalsa, he changed Sikhs into a saint-soldier for protecting themselves
  • Introduced a new rite "Pahul"
  • He made his headquarter at Makhowal or Anandpur. He compiled a supplementary Granth
  • He joined Bahadur Shah's camp as a noble
  • He was the last Sikh Guru in human form and he passed the Guruship of Shiks to the Guru Granth Sahib

TRICK To Remember Sikh Gurus Name and Order

Nanak Angdan kr Amar ho Ram ke pass chale gaye lekin Arjun ne Govind ki Rai li or kitni baduri se Kudh Govind ban gaye.

  • Guru Nanak (1469 - 1538)
  • Guru Angad (1538 - 1552)
  • Guru Amardas (1552 - 1574)
  • Guru Ramdas (1574 - 1581)
  • Guru Arjundev (1581 - 1606)
  • Guru Hargovind (1606 - 1645)
  • Guru Har Rai (1645 - 1661)
  • Guru Har Kishan (1661 - 1664)
  • Guru Teg Bahadur (1664 - 1675)
  • Guru Govind Singh (1675 - 1708)

All The Best !!!


Check OUT:

Prepare for SSC Exams 2022 with BYJU'S Exam Prep Course

SSC Success Batch: A comprehensive 10 Months Foundation Course | Available in English and Hindi


3 Crore+ Registered Aspirants | 2.5 Crore Downloads | 50,000+ Selections

So why wait? Update your app right away!


write a comment


  • Gurus are spiritual gurus who share God's wisdom and guidance. Through the early 1700s, nine subsequent Gurus built on Guru Nanak's fundamental revelations, culminating in Guru Gobind Singh's completion of the Sikh holy book and declaration of Guru Granth Sahib as the ultimate Guru.

  • Guru Govind Singh was the 10th Sikh Guru.

  • Guru Nanak was the founder of Sikhism.

  • Guru Har Gobind was the sixth Guru of Sikh.

SSC & Railway

CGLSSC GDDFCCILCHSLCPONTPCMTSStenoGroup DDelhi PoliceOthersCoursesMock Test

Follow us for latest updates