Prime Minister of India List: List of Prime Minister of India from 1947 to 2023

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: September 25th, 2023

Prime Minister of India List: The post of Prime Minister in India is considered the most important in the country. A prime minister is the country’s leader and has immense power through which he represents the country and looks after its administration. The Prime Minister of India is appointed by the President. Since 1947, India has had many prime ministers who have contributed to the development of the country in their own ways.

The list of Prime Minister of India is a frequently asked topic in the general awareness section of SSC exams. Aspirants must know the Prime Minister of India list with party and tenures. This will help candidates prepare for the upcoming exams in a better way. Refer to the Prime Minister of India List from 1947 to 2023 below.

Prime Minister of India

The Prime Minister of India is the head of the country and holds the senior-most position in the cabinet. They work as a chief advisor to the President and acts as the chairman of the council of ministers. Prime Minister can join any of the two houses of the Parliament – the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha. They have a great number of responsibilities that range from selecting cabinet ministers to representing the country internationally.

From Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru to incumbent Shri Narendra Modi, the list of prime ministers of India features the names of quality leaders who have led the government after Indian independence. Read this article to learn about the Prime Minister of India list with party, tenures, and other important information.

Prime Minister of India List

The first name on the Prime Minister of India list is Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru who was the first prime minister of India. He served the government post-independence until his death in 1964. Under Nehru’s leadership, the Indian National Congress dominated both national and state-level politics. As a result, he won the Lok Sabha elections for four consecutive times in 1947, 1951, 1957, and 1962. 

After him, there were many other prominent personalities from other political parties that are included in the Prime Minister of India List from 1947 to 2023 also such as Lal Bahadur Shastri, Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi, Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Dr. Manmohan Singh, and Narendra Modi. 

Prime Minister of India List from 1947 to 2023

Prime Minister of India list includes 19 illustrious personalities who have led our country and facilitated its development. Refer to the table below to know the Prime Minister of India from 1947 to 2023 in detail.

Prime Minister of India List with Party

Prime Ministers of India 

Term of office


Jawaharlal Nehru

August 15, 1947 to May 27, 1964


Gulzari Lal Nanda (Interim)

May 27 to June 09, 1964


Lal Bahadur Shastri

June 09, 1964 to January 11, 1966


Gulzari Lal Nanda

January 11 to January 24, 1966


Indira Gandhi

January 24, 1966 to March 24, 1977


Morarji Desai

March 24, 1977 to July 28, 1979

Janata Party

Charan Singh

July 28, 1979 to January 14, 1980

Janata Party (Secular)

Indira Gandhi 

January 14, 1980 to October 31, 1984


Rajiv Gandhi

October 31, 1984 to December 02, 1989


Vishwanath Pratap Singh

December 02, 1989 to November 10, 1990

Janata Dal

Chandra Shekhar

November 10, 1990 to June 21, 1991

Samajwadi Janata Party

P.V. Narasimha Rao

June 21, 1991 to May 16, 1996


Atal Bihari Vajpayee

May 16, to June 01, 1996


H.D. Deve Gowda

June 01, 1996 to April 21, 1997

Janata Dal

Inder Kumar Gujral

April 21, 1997 to March 19, 1998

Janata Dal

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

March 19, 1998 to May 22, 2004


Manmohan Singh

May 22, 2004 to May 26, 2014


Narendra Modi

May 26, 2014 to Present


Prime Minister of India List in Hindi

Candidates can also check out the list of Prime Ministers in India in Hindi tabulated below. This will allow a further better understanding for better retention. Check out the Prime Minister of India list in Hindi along with tenure.

भारत के प्रधान मंत्री कार्यकाल
जवाहर लाल नेहरू 1947 से 1964
गुलजारी लाल नंदा मई 1964 से जून 1964
लाल बहादुर शास्त्री 1964 से 1966
गुलजारी लाल नंदा जनवरी 1966 से जनवरी 1966
इंदिरा गांधी 1966 से 1977
मोरारजी देसाई 1977 से 1979
चरण सिंह 1979 से 1980
इंदिरा गांधी 1980 से 1984
राजीव गांधी 1984 से 1989
विश्वनाथ प्रताप 1989 से 1990 
चंद्रशेखर 1990 से 1991
पी वी नरसिम्हा राव 1991 से 1996
अटल बिहारी वाजपेयी मई 1996 से जून 1996
एच. डी. देव गौड़ा 1996 से 1997
इंदर कुमार गुजराल 1997 से 1998
अटल बिहारी वाजपेयी 1998 से 2004
मनमोहन सिंह 2004 से 2014
नरेंद्र मोदी 2014 से अब तक

List of Prime Minister of India PDF

To help candidates easily learn the list of Prime Ministers of India, we are providing a PDF here. Candidates can download it to access the list anywhere and anytime for study and revision purposes. We have curated the Prime Minster of India list PDF with terms and parties to help candidates get all the important information in one place.

>Prime Minister of India PDF

We hope candidates can make good use of the Prime Minister of India list provided in this article. To prepare for the upcoming exam, refer to SSC online coaching to get access to exclusive study materials and mock tests.

SSC & Railway

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium