IB ACIO Exam Pattern & Marking Scheme for Tier 1, Tier 2 & Interview

IB ACIO Exam Pattern & Marking Scheme for Tier 1, Tier 2 & Interview

ByNeha Uppal  |  Updated on: Jan 29, 2022
Candidates preparing for IB ACIO exam can go through the IB ACIO Exam Pattern 2022 that is described here. Know the paper pattern for all the three tiers, i.e. tier 1, descriptive paper & interview along with the marking scheme for each tier.
Sign up for Free Mock Test

This post informs you of the IB ACIO exam pattern for all the tiers of examination, i.e. tier 1, tier 2 and tier 3. Tier 1 is objective in nature, tier 2 is descriptive paper while tier 3 is the interview. Knowing the IB ACIO Exam Pattern 2022 provides you with the knowledge about the marking scheme, exam duration, marks weightage that will help you in preparing a strategy and a proper study plan to crack the exam. Read the detailed IB ACIO Exam Pattern below.

IB ACIO Exam Pattern 2022

IB ACIO Exam Pattern 2022 is prescribed by the Intelligence Bureau of Ministry of Home Affairs along with its notification. The exam pattern gives you the knowledge of the paper pattern, duration of exam, weightage of sections in the exam, tiers in the exam and marking scheme. Here, we have provided you with complete information about the IB exam pattern with the subject wise marting scheme. 

The IB ACIO exam is conducted in three main stages, tier 1, tier 2 and tier 3. Tier 1 is an objective online test that has 5 sections. Tier 2 is a descriptive paper that has to be answered in English and Tier 3 is the interview round. The candidates interested in qualifying the IB ACIO exam 2022 must go through this post to get complete knowledge of the exam pattern. 

IB ACIO Exam Pattern 2022 Highlights



Exam name

IB ACIO Exam 2022

Stages of exam

Three (3) tiers

Mode of exam

  • Tier 1: Online
  • Tier 2: Offline

Nature of questions

  • Tier 1: Objective Type
  • Tier 2: Descriptive Type

Total marks

200 Marks Total 

  • Tier 1: 100
  • Tier 2: 50
  • Interview: 100

Duration of the test

  • Tier 1: 1 Hour
  • Tier 2: 1 Hour

Negative marks

1/4th marks for every incorrect answer in Tier 1

IB ACIO Tier 1 Exam Pattern

The MHA ACIO Tier 1 Examination is the first stage of the recruitment process that is a written exam with 100 marks.

  • Each correct answer is given one mark, while each incorrect leads to a negative marking of 0.25 mark.
  • With the exception of the English Language Test, the test will be available in both English and Hindi.
  • The duration of the exam is 1 hour for 100 marks paper.
  • Other IB ACIO 2022 exam details are listed in the table below.


Number of Question

Total Marks

Maximum Time

English Language



1 hour

General Studies


Quantitative Aptitude


General Awareness


Logical Ability & Reasoning


IB ACIO Tier 2 Exam Pattern

The 2nd stage of the IB ACIO exam is the descriptive paper. The candidates who will obtain the IB ACIO cut off marks in tier 1 shall be called to appear for the tier 2 exam. 

Tier 2 of the IB ACIO Exam 2022 is a descriptive type test with Essay and Precis Writing. To advance to the next step, a candidate must score at least 33% on this descriptive test. The IB ACIO Exam Tier 2 Exam Pattern is mentioned below.


Number of Question

Total Marks

Maximum Time

English Comprehension and Precis



1 hour




IB ACIO Tier 3 Exam Pattern

Candidates will be shortlisted for the interview phase based on their overall performance in the MHA IB ACIO Tier 1 and Tier 2 examinations. The IB ACIO interview shall comprise of 100 marks. The candidates' intelligence and personality will be tested in this round. 


Important Points to Note for IB ACIO Exam Pattern 2022

Here are some of the important points to note for IB ACIO Exam 2022

  • Candidates will lose a quarter of their marks if they answer incorrectly.
  • The Tier 1 of IB ACIO exam 2022 exam will have a cutoff of 35 marks out of a possible 100. (OBC/EWS: 34, SC/ST: 33)
  • Tier 2 of IB ACIO exam consists of a descriptive paper that includes understanding, precis, and essay writing. This exam has a one-hour time limit. A maximum of 50 marks will be available.
  • The personal interview round is part of the Tier 3 phase of the IB ACIO exam. 
IB ACIO Syllabus IB ACIO Question Papers
IB ACIO Books IB ACIO Salary 
IB ACIO Selection ProcessIB ACIO Cut Off

IB ACIO Exam Pattern FAQs

  • IB ACIO Exam Pattern 2022 comprises of three tiers, tier 1, tier 2 and tier 3. Tier 1 is objective in nature while Tier 2 is descriptive in nature. On the other hand, tier 3 is the interview. 

  • Going by the latest IB ACIO exam pattern, IB ACIO Tier-1 is divided into 5 sections which are Quantitative Aptitude, General Studies, English Language, General Awareness, and Logical Ability & Reasoning.

  • No, the Ministry of Home Affairs doesn't change the IB ACIO exam pattern every year. It remains constant. However, we will notify you if any changes are made.

  •  Yes, a 1/4th marks will be deducted for each wrong response in the IB ACIO exam 2022 in tier 1 exam only. 

SSC & Railway

CGLSSC GDDFCCILCHSLCPONTPCMTSStenoGroup DDelhi PoliceOthersCoursesMock Test