Tricks to Remember Indian Polity Schedules, Writs, Constitutional Bodies

By PARUL RISHI|Updated : October 28th, 2022

Indian Constitution originally had eight schedules. Four more schedules were added by different amendments, now making a total tally of twelve.
Writs are a written order from the Supreme Court or High Court that commands constitutional remedies for Indian Citizens against the violation of their fundamental rights. Article 32 in the Indian Constitution deals with constitutional remedies that an Indian citizen can seek from the Supreme Court and High Court against the violation of his/her fundamental rights.
In this article, we have provided the complete list of schedules, writs, sessions of parliament, and tricks to remember them.

List of Schedules of the Indian Constitution

Schedules of the Indian Constitution

Features of Schedules

1st Schedule

·       This schedule contains the name of States and Union Territories

·       Territorial Jurisdiction of states is also included

2nd Schedule

This schedule lists the allowances, privileges, emoluments of:

  • President of India
  • Governors of Indian States
  • Speaker of Lok Sabha & Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha
  • Chairman of Rajya Sabha & Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha
  • Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Legislative Assemblies of Indian States
  • Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Legislative Councils of the Indian States
  • Supreme Court Judges
  • High Court Judges
  • Comptroller & Auditor General of India (CAG)

3rd Schedule

This schedule contains the forms of oath and affirmation for:

  • Union Ministers of India
  • Parliament Election candidates
  • Members of Parliament (MPs)
  • Supreme Court Judges
  • Comptroller and Auditor General
  • State Ministers
  • State Legislature Elections’ Candidates
  • State Legislature Members
  • High Court Judges

4th Schedule

This schedule consists of the provisions concerning the allocation of seats for States and Union Territories in the Rajya Sabha

5th Schedule

This schedule comprises provisions concerning the administration and control of scheduled areas and scheduled tribes

6th Schedule

It contains provisions concerning the administration of other scheduled areas and tribal areas in the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram

7th Schedule

This schedule deals with the federal provisions of three important legislative lists which are:

  • Union
  • State
  • Concurrent

8th Schedule

This schedule deals with the 22 official languages recognized by the Indian Constitution which are Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri (Dongri), Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Mathili (Maithili), Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu

9th Schedule

This schedule is regarding the state acts and regulations that deal with land reforms and the abolition of the zamindari system. It also deals with the acts and regulations of the Parliament dealing with other matters.

10th Schedule

  • This schedule contains provisions relating to disqualification of the members of Parliament and State Legislatures on the ground of defection.
  • This schedule was added by the 52nd Amendment Act of 1985, also known as the Anti-defection Law

11th Schedule

It contains the provisions that specify the powers, authority, and responsibilities of Panchayats. It has 29 matters; this schedule was added by the 73rd Amendment Act of 1992

12th Schedule

It deals with the provisions that specify the powers, authority, and responsibilities of Municipalities. It has 18 matters; this schedule was added by the 74th Amendment Act of 1992

Trick to Remember Schedules of the Indian Constitution

Here is the trick: “TEARS OF OLD PM”


Types of Writs in India

Name of the Writ

Meaning of the Writ

Use of the Writ

Issued Against

Habeas Corpus

You may have the body

To release a person who has been detained unlawfully whether in prison or private custody

Public officials as well as private persons

Mandamus (also called ‘Writ of Justice’)

We command

To secure the performance of public duties by the lower court, tribunal or public authority

Public authority, judicial bodies, quasi-public authorities to perform the legal duty


To be certified or to be fully informed of

To quash the order already passed by an inferior court, tribunal or quasi-judicial authority

Inferior court, tribunal


To prohibit

To prohibit an inferior court from continuing the proceedings in a particular case where it has no jurisdiction to try

Judicial authorities, administrative authorities, quasi-judicial authorities

Quo Warranto

What is your authority?

To restrain a person from holding a public office who is not entitled

Substantive public authority only

Trick to Remember Writs of Indian Constitution in English

CPM HQ (Head Quarter)

‘C’ stands for Certiorari

‘P’ stands for Prohibition

‘M’ stands for Mandamus

‘H’ stands for Habeus Corpus

‘Q’ stands for Quo Warranto

Trick to Remember Writs of Indian Constitution in Hindi

हाँ मैंने पढ़ाई से  प्यार  कियो!

हाँ (ha)  – Habeas Corpus

मैंने (man)  – Mandamus

सै (ce) – Certiorari

प्यार (pr) – Prohibition

कियो (quo) – Quo-Warranto

All the Constitutional Bodies In India

Trick to RememberFiNANCE UG


Finance Commission (A280)


National Commission for SCs ( A338)


Attorney General (A76)


National Commission for STs (A338-A)


CAG (A148)


Election Commission (A324)


UPSC (A315–323)


GST Council

Sessions in Parliament

B.M.W stands for BUDGET, MONSOON, WINTER sessions of Lok sabha

B stands

BUDGET (Feb to May)

M stands

MONSOON (July to Sept)

W stands

WINTER (Nov to Dec)


'CAB' : 



B for B.N RAO means B.N.Rao was an advisor to the constituent assembly who prepared a draft of a constitution

States having Legislative Council (Upper House)

Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana

Key word is “KUMB JATi “

Since the legislative council represents elders/ Big so we will try to remember as “KUMB” means Big, “JATi” means the lineage




Uttar Pradesh






Andhra Pradesh




No meaning


Related Articles:
SSC & Railway ExamsSSC CPO Exam
SSC CHSL ExamSSC Steno Exam
SSC GD Constable Exam 

All The Best !!!


Check Out

Prepare for SSC CGL 2022 with Our Latest Batch

SSC CGL 2022: लक्ष्य / Target Batch


3 Crore+ Registered Aspirants | 2.5 Crore Downloads | 50,000+ Selections

So why wait? Update your app right away!


write a comment

SSC & Railway

CGLSSC GDDFCCILCHSLCPONTPCMTSStenoGroup DDelhi PoliceOthersCoursesMock Test

Follow us for latest updates