Tricks to Remember Governor Generals during the British

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: September 13th, 2023

PSC examination mostly asks questions related to various Governor Generals and their contribution in framing India’s fate. Thus, this article will help you memorize the chronological order of the tenure of these Governor Generals and other important facts related to their stay in India.

Tricks to Remember Governor Generals in British India

Under the Company rule in India, the Regulating Act of 1773 made the Governor-General of Bengal into Governor-General of India. Thus, from 1773 to 1858 the post of Governor-General of India was the Supreme authority but, after the Revolt of 1857, India came under the Crown rule, and the position of Governor-General of India now became the Viceroy of India. The following table highlights the various Governor Generals of India and their important policies.

Governor-General of India


Important Keywords

Warren Hastings (1773-1785)

First Governor-General of India

·         Abolition of Dual system of Administration.

·         Division of Bengal into districts and appointment of collectors.

·         Pitts Act, 1784

·         First Anglo-Mysore War and the treaty of Salbai

·         Second Anglo-Mysore War

·         Treaty of Surat

·         Introduced Diwani and Faujdari Adalats in districts and Sardar Diwani and Nizamat Adalats at Calcutta.

Dual System

Lord Cornwallis (1786-1793)

·         Introduction of New Police System in 1791

·         Third Anglo-Mysore War and Treaty of Seringapatam

·         Codified laws based on the Separation of Powers

·         Introduced Permanent Settlement in Bengal

·         Introduced Civil Services in India

Permanent Settlement in Bengal and Civil Services

Sir John Shore (1793-1798)

·         Charter Act, 1793

·         Battle of Kharda

·         Policy of Non-Interference


Lord Wellesley (1798-1805)

·         Introduced Subsidiary Alliance System

·         Fourth Anglo-Mysore War

·         Second Anglo-Marath War

·         Creation of Madras Presidency

·         Treaty of Bassein

Subsidiary Alliance

Sir George Barlow (1805-1807)

·         Vellore Sepoy Mutiny, 1806


Lord Minto I (1807-1813)

·         Charter Act of 1813

·         Treaty of Amritsar

·         Sent Mission of Malcolm to Persia and Eliphinston to Kabul


Lord Hastings (1813-1823)

·         Anglo-Nepalese War and Treaty of Sugauli

·         Treaty of Poona

·         Third Anglo-Maratha War

·         Pindari War

·         Bombay Presidency was formed in 1818

·         Ryotwari settlements in Madras Presidency

·         Mahalwari land revenue system in North-West Province

·         The policy of Intervention and War


Lord Amherst (1823-1828)

·         First Burmese War and the treaty of Yandaboo, 1826

·         Acquisition of Malay peninsula


Lord William Bentinck (1828-1835)

·         Father of Modern Western Education in India

·         Abolition of Sati in India

·         Also Banned female infanticide

·         Suppressed Thugee in India

·         Charter Act of 1833

·         Agra Province was created

·         English became the official language of India

·         Macaulay’s Minutes on Education

·         Abolished Provincial court of appeal

Modern Education, Sati, Female Infanticide

Sir Charles Metcalfe (1835-1836)

·         Passed Press Law


Lord Auckland (1836-1842)

·         First Afghan War


Lord Ellenborough (1842-1844)

·         Annexation of Sindh

·         Abolition of slavery in India


Lord Hardinge (1844-1848)

·         First Sikh War and Treaty of Lahore

·         Female infanticide and Human Sacrifice was banned amongst the Gonds of Central India


Lord Dalhousie (1848-1856)

·         Abolished title and pension

·         Second Anglo-Sikh War and annexation of Punjab

·         Doctrine of Lapse

·         Second Burmese War, 1852

·         Annexation of Berar

·         Charter Act of 1853

·         Introduced Railways between Thane and Bombay

·         Started Telegraph Service and Postal System

·         Foundation of Public Works Department (PWD)

·         Woods Dispatch

·         Widow Remarriage Act, 1856

·         Santhal Uprising

·         Shimla became the Summer Capital of British India

Doctrine of Lapse, Railway, Postal Telegraph and PWD, Widow Remarriage, Woods Dispatch

Trick to remember the chronological sequence of Governor Generals of India: British Governor-General Want Corn Juice With Ginger and Mint. Hasting and Amherst Will Meet at Auckland to do Ellan Hardin Da.

  • Want Corn Juice With Ginger and Mint: Warren Hasting, Cornwallis, John Shore, Wellesley, George Burlow, and Minto I.
  • Hasting and Amherst Will Meet at Auckland to do Ellan Hardin Da: Hastings, Amherst, William Bentinck, Charles Metcalfe, Auckland, Ellenborough, Hardinge and Dalhousie.


State PCS के लिए Complete Free Study Notes, अभी Download करें

Download Free PDFs of Daily, Weekly & Monthly करेंट अफेयर्स in Hindi & English

NCERT Books तथा उनकी Summary की PDFs अब Free में Download करें 

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium