What is the Capital of Madhya Pradesh?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: September 25th, 2023

Bhopal is the capital of Madhya Pradesh. Other important cities of this state include Ujjain, Gwalior, and Jabalpur. Earlier, this city was also known as a Muslim princely state in Central India. Madhya Pradesh is the second largest state of India in terms of area with a population of 75 million residents.

  • According to the States Reorganization Act, Bhopal was merged into the state of Madhya Pradesh in 1956.
  • Bhopal is also called the city of lakes because it has a number of lakes. 
  • The name is a derivation of Bhoj Tal (Bhoj’s Lake), a lake that was constructed by a Hindu Raja known called “Bhoj” in the 11th century. Today, that lake is called the Upper Bhopal Lake (Bada Talab), which is connected to the Lower Bhopal Lake (Chhota Talab) by an aqueduct.
  • The Bhopal Gas Tragedy took place in this city itself on 2–3 December 1984 at the Union Carbide India Limited (UCIL) plant. This is termed as one of the world’s greatest industrial disasters that drew international attention.


What is the Capital of Madhya Pradesh?

The capital of Madhya Pradesh is Bhopal. It is situated in Malwa Plateau and lies just north of Vindhya Range. Bhopal is one of the major cities of M.P. along with Ujjain, Indore, Gwalior, etc.

Related Links:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium