What is the Capital of Sri Lanka?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The capital of Sri Lanka is Colombo and Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte. The reason behind the two capitals is that it enables the government to counter rapid urbanization and provide better infrastructure facilities. The current capital of Sri Lanka is Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte. Colombo is the commercial centre and Sri Jayawardenepura is the administration centre of Sri Lanka.

Capital of Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka has got two capitals which are Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte and Colombo. The reason behind Sri Lanka’s two capitals is to reduce traffic and population in Colombo and also lessen the environmental damage due to the large population. The legislative capital of Sri Lanka is Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte. It was founded in the 14th Century and served as the official capital of the Sinhalese Kingdom of Kotte till the 16th century. Here are some interesting facts on the capital of Sri Lanka.

  • Urban council overseas Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte and neighbouring cities of Nugegoda.
  • Due to the city’s urban character, it has rice paddies and plantations.
  • Contemporary Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte is a well-planned urban city along with government offices and residential housing.
  • The Parliament House and other legislative buildings are located on a small island in Diyawanna Oya Lake.
  • The legislative capital city is home to the University of Sri Jayewardenepura.
  • It is one of the premier institutions in Sri Lanka for higher education founded in 1873.

History Of Two Capital Cities of Sri Lanka:

Historically, Sri Lanka is known as Ceylon, which is an island nation in South Asia. Its official name is the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka. Earlier, the capital of Sri Lanka was Colombo however, now the major institutions are slowly being moved to Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte. Hence, resulting in Sri Lanka having two capital cities.

Capital of Sri Lanka – Geography:

Sri Lanka’s largest Government buildings and houses are located in the urban area of Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte. The Parliament House and other legislative structures are housed on a small island in Lake Diyawant. More government institutions continue to be relocated from Colombo.


What is the Capital of Sri Lanka?

Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte is the capital city of Sri Lanka. On the other hand, Colombo is the executive capital of the country. There are two capital cities in Sri Lanka. Jayawardenepura Kotte is the home of the government and leading higher institutions.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium