Australian Open 2023: List of Winners

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: September 25th, 2023

Australian Open 2023: Grand Slam level tennis tournament, Australian Open 2023 was held at Melbourne Park, from 16th to 29th January 2023. In the tournament, Novak Djokovic claimed the men’s singles title and Aryna Sabalenka won the women’s single title. Lets dig deep inside to know about the tournament and winners of this year.

The 2023 Australian Open was the 111th edition of the Australian Open, 55th in the Open Era, and first major tennis tournament of the year. It consisted of events for professional players in singles, doubles and mixed doubles. Its main sponsor for 2023 is Kia Corporation.

List of Australian Open 2023 Winners

S. No.



Runner Up


Men’s Singles

Novak Djokovic (Serbia)

 Stefanos Tsitsipas (Greece)


Women’s Singles

 Aryna Sabalenka (Belarus)     Elena Rybakina (Kazakhstan)


Men’s Doubles

 Rinky Hijikata  and Jason Kubler (Australia) Hugo Nys (Monaco) and Jan Zieliński (Poland)


Women’s Doubles

 Barbora Krejčíková and Kateřina Siniaková (Czech Republic)  Shuko Aoyama and Ena Shibahara (Japan)


Mixed Doubles

 Luisa Stefani and Rafael Matos (Brazil)  Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna (India)

Novak Djokovic beats Stefanos Tsitsipas to claim Men’s Singles title


  • Novak Djokovic defeated Stefanos Tsitsipas in straight sets by 6-3 7-6 (7-4) 7-6 (7-5).
  • It was his 10th Australian Open title and a record-equaling 22nd grand slam.
  • He is currently ranked world No. 1 in singles by Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP), and has held the top position for a record total 373 weeks, and finished as the year-end No. 1 a record seven times.
  • He won his first major title at the 2008 Australian Open.

Aryna Sabalenka of Belarus wins Women’s singles title


  • Belarus’ Aryna Sabalenka defeated Kazakhstan’s Elena Rybakina in the final of the Australian Open women’s singles by 4-6, 6-3, 6-4 to claim her maiden singles Grand Slam.
  • She has been ranked as world No. 2 in singles and world No. 1 in doubles by the Women’s Tennis Association (WTA).
  • She has won 18 career titles in total, twelve in singles and six in doubles.

Other Winners of Australian Open 2023




Wheelchair men’s singles

Alfie Hewett (United Kingdom)

Tokito Oda (Japan)

Wheelchair women’s singles

Diede de Groot (Netherlands)

Yui Kamiji (Japan)

Wheelchair quad singles

Sam Schröder (Netherlands)

Niels Vink (Netherlands)

Wheelchair men’s doubles

Alfie Hewett and Gordon Reid (United Kingdom)

Maikel Scheffers and Ruben Spaargaren (Netherlands)

Wheelchair women’s doubles

Diede de Groot and Aniek van Koot (Netherlands)

Yui Kamiji (Japan) and Zhu Zhenzhen (China)

Wheelchair quad doubles

Sam Schröder and Niels Vink (Netherlands)

Donald Ramphadi (South Africa) and Ymanitu Silva (Brazil)

Boys’ singles

Alexander Blockx (Belgium)

Learner Tien (United States)

Girls’ singles

Alina Korneeva (Russia)

Mirra Andreeva (Russia)

Boys’ doubles

Learner Tien and Cooper Williams (United States)

Alexander Blockx (Belgium) and João Fonseca (Brazil)

Girls’ doubles

Renáta Jamrichová (Slovakia) and Federica Urgesi (Italy)

Hayu Kinoshita and Sara Saito (Japan)

Interesting Facts about Australian Open

Australian Open 2023: List of Winners

  • It is a tennis tournament, which is held annually at Melbourne Park in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.
  • It is the first of the four Grand Slam tennis tournament held each year, preceding French Open, Wimbledon, and US Open.
  • It generally starts in the middle of January and continues for two weeks coinciding with the Australia Day holiday.
  • It features:
    • Men’s and women’s singles
    • Men’s, women’s, and mixed doubles
    • Junior’s championships
    • Wheelchair
    • Legends
    • Exhibition events.
  • Before 1988, it was played on grass courts, but since hardcourt surfaces have been used like green-coloured Rebound Ace up to 2007, blue Plexicushion from 2008 to 2019, and blue GreenSet since 2020.
  • It was first held in 1905 as the Australasian championships at the Warehouseman’s Cricket Ground in Melbourne.
  • It is also known as the happy slam.
  • It was also the first Grand Slam tournament to feature indoor play during wet weather or extreme heat with its three primary courts, Rod Laver Arena, John Cain Arena and the refurbished Margaret Court Arena equipped with retractable roofs.


If you are aiming to clear SBI PO 2023, then join the Online Classroom Program where you will get:


Practice SBI & IBPS PO 2023 Prelims and Mains Mock Test for FREE to get better scores – SBI & IBPS PO Mock Test

  • Live Courses by Top Faculty
  • Daily Study Plan 
  • Comprehensive Study Material 
  • Latest Pattern Test Series 
  • Complete Doubt Resolution 
  • Regular Assessments with Report Card

Click here to access Bank Test Series

Why BYJU’S Exam Prep Test Series?

  • Get better at every level of your preparation with unlimited test series, based on the latest exam pattern. 
  • Assess areas of weaknesses & track improvements with in-depth performance analysis

Download the BYJU’S Exam Prep App Now. 

The most comprehensive exam prep app.


PO, Clerk, SO, Insurance

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium