What are the Parts and Schedules of Indian Constitution?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Parts and Schedules of the Indian Constitution are as follows: At present, the Constitution of India has 25 parts and 12 schedules. The original Indian constitution had 22 parts and 395 Articles, and 8 schedules. Constitution Day is celebrated every year on 26 November. The Indian Constitution is the longest constitution in the world.

Parts of the Indian Constitution

Below we have covered the parts of the Indian Constitution and its various articles:

Parts and Subjects Articles
Part I – The Union and its Territories 1 – 4
Part II – Citizenship 5 – 11
Part III – Fundamental Rights 12 – 35
Part IV – Directive Principles of State Policy 36 – 51
Part IV A – Fundamental Duties 51A
Part V – The Union 52 – 151
Part VI – The States 152 – 237
Part VII – The States in Part B of the First Schedule 238 [Repealed]
Part VIII – The Union Territories 239 – 242
Part IX – The Panchayats 243 – 243O
Part IXA – The Municipalities 243P – 243ZG
Part IXB – The Cooperative Societies 243ZH – 243ZT
Part X – The Scheduled and Tribal Areas 244 – 244A
Part XI – Relation between the Union and the States 245 – 263
Part XII – Finance, Property, Contracts, and Suits 264 – 300A
Part XIII – Trade, Commerce, and Intercourse within the Territory of India 301 – 307
Part XIV – Services Under the Union and the States 308 – 323
Part XIVA – Tribunals 323A – 323B
Part XV – Elections 324 – 329A
Part XVI – Special provisions relating to certain classes 330 – 342
Part XVII – Official language 343 – 351
Part XVIII – Emergency Provisions 352 – 360
Part XIX – Miscellaneous 361 – 367
Part XX – Amendment of the Constitution 368
Part XXI – Temporary, Transitional, and Special Provisions 369 – 392
Part XXII – Short Title, Commencement, Authoritative Text in Hindi and Repeals 393 – 395

Schedules of the Indian Constitution

There are 12 schedules in the Indian Constitution, and we have covered them all below.

  • 1st Schedule: It lists the states and union territories and their territorial jurisdiction.
  • 2nd Schedule: It contains provisions relating to the privileges, allowances, and emoluments of the President, the Governors of the States, the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha and the Deputy Speaker of the Rajya Sabha, the Speaker of the Lok Sabha, and the Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha, the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assembly. Councils of Indian States, Judges of the Supreme Court, Speakers and Deputy Speakers of Legislative Assemblies of Indian States, Comptroller and Auditor General of India (CAG), Judges of High Courts, and Supreme Court.
  • 3rd Schedule: Contains different forms of oaths.
  • 4th Schedule: Contains provisions for seat allocation in the Council of States.
  • 5th Schedule: Contains a provision for the control and administration of Scheduled Tribes and Scheduled Areas.
  • 6th Schedule: Contains provisions regarding the administration of tribal areas in Tripura, Assam, Mizoram, and Meghalaya.
  • 7th Schedule: It consists of State List, Union List, and Concurrent List.
  • 8th Schedule: It contains the list of all recognized languages.
  • 9th Schedule: It contains provisions for verifying certain Regulations and Acts.
  • 10th Schedule: Includes provisions for disqualification on the grounds of defection.
  • 11th Schedule: Contains rights, powers, and responsibilities of Panchayats.
  • 12th Schedule: Includes Powers, authority, and responsibilities of Municipalities.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium