How Many Parts are in the Indian Constitution?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

There are 25 parts in the Indian Consitution. The Indian Constitution is the world’s longest Constitution having nearly 470 articles in 25 parts, 12 schedules, and 105 amendments (as on October 2022). The Preamble is also an important part being the soul of the constitution. The Indian Constitution earlier had 395 articles and 22 parts. Later, 3 parts were added to it as modifications, bringing the total parts of the constitution of India to 25. Under these 25 parts of the Constitution, additional articles were also added.

The Constituent Assembly of India adopted the Constitution on 26 November 1949. Therefore, we celebrate ‘Constitution Day’ or ‘Samvidhan Divas’ on 26 November every year to recognise its adoption.

Constitution of India

There have been 105 amendment acts passed to the Indian Constitution. The Constitution establishes a parliamentary government with some unitary characteristics and a federal framework.

  • The President is the official head of the Union’s Executive under the Constitution.
  • The Council of the Parliament of the Union is comprised of the President, the Rajya Sabha, and the House of the People, in accordance with Article 79 of the Indian Constitution (Lok Sabha).
  • In accordance with Article 74(1) of the Constitution, the President performs his or her duties on the advice of the Prime Minister and the Ministers Council.
  • The actual executive authority thus rests with the Council of Ministers, which is led by the Prime Minister.
  • The union of states known as Bharat makes up the Indian Constitution.
  • The country is a Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic with a parliamentary system of government.
  • The Indian Constitution, approved by the Constituent Assembly on November 26, 1949, and took effect on January 26, 1950, governs the Republic.

Parts of the Indian Constitution

We have listed all 25 parts of the Indian Constitution below for a better understanding.

Parts Subject Articles
I The Union and its territory 1 to 4
II Citizenship 5 to 11
III Fundamental Rights 12 to 35
IV Directive Principles of State Policy 36 to 51
IV-A Fundamental Duties 51-A
V The Union Government 52 to 151
Chapter I – The Executive 52 to 78
Chapter II – Parliament 79 to 122
Chapter III – Legislative Powers of the President 123
Chapter IV – The Union Judiciary 124 to 147
Chapter V – Comptroller and Auditor-General of India 148 to 151
VI The State Governments 152 to 237
Chapter I – General 152
Chapter II – The Executive 153 to 167
Chapter III – The State Legislature 168 to 212
Chapter IV – Legislative Powers of the Governor 213
Chapter V – The High Courts 214 to 232
Chapter VI – Subordinate Courts 233 to 237
VIII The Union Territories 239 to 242
IX The Panchayats 243 to 243-O
IX-A The Municipalities 243-P to 243-ZG
IX-B The Co-operative Societies 243-ZH to 243-ZT
X The Scheduled and Tribal Areas 244 to 244-A
XI Relations between the Union and the States 245 to 263
Chapter I – Legislative Relations 245 to 255
Chapter II – Administrative Relations 256 to 263
XII Finance, Property, Contracts and Suits 264 to 300-A
Chapter I – Finance 264 to 291
Chapter II – Borrowing 292 to 293
Chapter III – Property, Contracts, Rights, Liabilities, Obligations and Suits 294 to 300
Chapter IV – Right to Property 300-A
XIII Trade, Commerce and Intercourse within the Territory of India 301 to 307
XIV Services under the Union and the States 308 to 323
Chapter I – Services 308 to 314
Chapter II – Public Service Commissions 315 to 323
XIV-A Tribunals 323-A to 323-B
XV Elections 324 to 329-A
XVI Special Provisions relating to Certain Classes 330 to 342
XVII Official Languages 343 to 351
Chapter I – Language of the Union 343 to 344
Chapter II – Regional Languages 345 to 347
Chapter III-Language of the Supreme Court, High Courts, and so on 348 to 349
Chapter IV-Special Directives 350 to 351
XVIII Emergency Provisions 352 to 360
XIX Miscellaneous 361 to 367
XX Amendment of the Constitution 368
XXI Temporary, Transitional and Special Provisions 369 to 392
XXII Short title, Commencement, Authoritative Text in Hindi and Repeals 393 to 395

To summarise, we can say that the 395 clauses in the original Indian Constitution were divided into 22 parts. The Indian Constitution later included 448 provisions and 25 sections as of 2021. Additional articles were also added to the Constitution under these 25 segments. As of today, there are about 470 articles overall.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium