What are the Union Territories of India and their Capitals?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

There are 8 Union Territories in India which are Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Lakshadweep, and Pondicherry. The capital of the Indian Union Territories is also their administrative and executive districts. In the Republic of India, a union territory is a type of administrative division.

Union Territories of India and their Capitals

India had 29 states and 7 union territories as of 2019. Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh were added as two new union territories following the 2019 Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act. India now has a total of eight union territories.

There are interesting reasons behind the formation of Union Territories in India. These are constituent units that are administered and governed by the Central government and the Head of these UTs is the President.

List of Union Territories of India and their Capitals

The list of Union Territories of India is mentioned below with their respective capitals:

S. No. Union Territory Capital
1 Andaman & Nicobar Port Blair
2 Chandigarh Chandigarh
3 Dadra and Nagar Haveli & Daman and Diu Daman
4 Delhi New Delhi
5 Jammu & Kashmir Srinagar (summer capital)

Jammu (winter capital)

6 Ladakh Leh (summer capital)

Kargil (winter capital)

7 Lakshadweep Kavaratti
8 Puducherry Puducherry

BYJU'S UPSC Toppers 2023
Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium