Who Signed the First Indian Constitution?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

284 of the Constituent Assembly members signed the first Indian constitution on 26 November 1949 to adopt the draft constitution. Only 284 out of the 299 Assembly members were in attendance on that day. Members and the President each signed the draught Constitution.

Signing of the First Indian Constitution

On 26 November 1949, the Indian Constitution was ratified, and on 24 January 1950, the honorable members added their signatures. The Constitution was actually signed by 284 members in total. The original Indian Constitution was handwritten rather than printed.

The Jawaharlal Nehru-led government of India commissioned Nandalal Bose of Shantiniketan to illustrate the pages with images of old Indian scriptures and culture. Prem Behari Narain Raizada (Saxena) of Delhi created the calligraphy.

  • This ornamented handwritten text is kept in a helium-filled glass case at the Parliament Library.
  • The original constitution’s ten handwritten pages are presented here.
  • They bear the signatures of all 284 members of the constituent assembly who ratified the constitution.
  • On January 24, Dr. Rajendra Prasad, India’s first president, was the first; Feroze Gandhi, the president of the Constituent Assembly at the time, was the last to sign the Constitution of India.
  • The Indian Constitution was initially ratified by Dr. Rajendra Prasad.
  • The Preamble page was written by Jabalpur native Beohar Rammanohar Sinha, who studied painting in Shantiniketan and Chungking (China).
  • Sinha made research trips to the Ajanta and Ellora Caves, Sanchi, Sarnath, and Mahabalipuram before creating the Preamble page’s artwork.
  • To illustrate the essence of the Indian Constitution, she then used traditional themes like the Padm, Nandi, Airavata, Vyaghra, Ashwa, Hans, and Mayur.


Who signed the first Indian Constitution?

On November 26, 1949, about 284 members of the Constituent Assembly who were present signed the motion to adopt the proposed constitution. Rather than being printed, the original Indian Constitution was written by hand.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium