What is a Concurrent List?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Concurrent List includes issues of common interest to the States and the Union. The Concurrent List or List-III consists of 52 items listed in the Indian Constitution’s Seventh Schedule. The laws on the available subjects in the list are made by the State Legislature and Parliament. The list caters to the common issues of both the Union and the State.

Features of Concurrent List

There are a total of 52 items in the Concurrent List or List-III of the constitution. The list of these items is present in the Seventh Schedule of the Constitution of India. The State Legislature and Parliament can make laws on the subjects available in the list.

  • It defines and specifies the distribution of powers and functions between the states and the union.
  • The legislative department is divided into three lists: union, state, and concurrent.
  • The list includes education, forest, trade union, marriage, adoption, and succession.

Define Concurrent List

The Concurrent List contains subjects in respect of which national and regional governments can pass laws. In case of disagreement between the law of the Union and the State concerning the same subject, the Union law shall prevail over the law of the State.

According to the 42nd Amendment Act of 1976, about 5 subjects were transferred from the state to the concurrent list. they are:

  • Protection of wild animals and birds
  • Weights and measures
  • Administration of justice
  • Education
  • Forests

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium