How is Lok Sabha More Powerful than the Rajya Sabha?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Lok Sabha is more powerful than the Rajya Sabha because it has a larger membership than the Rajya Sabha. Furthermore, once a money-related bill is passed by the Lok Sabha, it cannot be rejected by the Rajya Sabha. The Lok Sabha has some powers that the Rajya Sabha does not have. As the Indian Constitution states that citizens are the ultimate arbiters, the members of the Lok Sabha are directly elected by the people of India, but the members of the Rajya Sabha are not.

Lok Sabha More Powerful than Rajya Sabha

Lok Sabha enjoys more power than the Rajya Sabha. The following points have been provided for better clarification:

  • The Rajya Sabha can only criticize the Indian government; it cannot depose it.
  • Only the Lok Sabha is accountable to the Council of Ministers, not the Rajya Sabha.
  • The Rajya Sabha cannot amend, reject, or introduce money bills. The Lok Sabha has greater financial authority.
  • The Rajya Sabha cannot reject any financial law or the government’s budget that has been approved by the Lok Sabha.
  • The Rajya Sabha may propose changes to these laws, which the Lok Sabha may approve or reject. The Rajya Sabha may postpone it for 14 days.
  • The Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha must both approve any common law. If the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha cannot agree on a specific law, a joint session of both houses of parliament is called to make the final decision.

However, because the Lok Sabha has a numerical advantage, the Lok Sabha’s views are likely to prevail. Both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha can be seen as co-equal in all other areas, such as the removal of the Vice-President of India, the impeachment of the President of India, amending the Indian Constitution, and enacting non-money laws.

Read: Powers of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha

What are Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha?

The Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the Lok Sabha (House of the People) are the two Houses that make up the Union’s legislative body, known as the Parliament of India. The Parliament also comprises the President. Each House must convene within six months after its most recent meeting. In some circumstances, a joint session of both Houses may be held.

Rajya Sabha

The Rajya Sabha is composed of 250 members, not to exceed 238 representatives from the States and Union Territories, and 12 members chosen by the President from those with special knowledge or experience in the fields of science, literature, art, and social service.

  • Members of the Rajya Sabha are elected indirectly; those representing States are chosen by elected candidates of the legislative assemblies of the States using the single transferable vote in accordance with the proportional representation system, and those representing Union Territories are chosen in accordance with the procedures specified by Parliament by law.
  • The Rajya Sabha cannot be dissolved, and every two years, one-third of its members leave office.

Lok Sabha

The Lok Sabha is composed of individuals elected through direct elections based on adult suffrage. The maximum number of House members allowed by the Constitution is now 552. There are 530 members who represent the states, 20 who represent Union Territories, and the President may appoint up to two Anglo-Indian nominees if he believes the community is underrepresented in the House.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium