How Many States and Union Territories are there in India?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in India. India is a huge country that is ranked 7th in the world in terms of area. It is subdivided into states and union territories and works harmoniously under the government. Since 1956, the number of states and union territories has changed. Initially, it was 14 states and 6 union territories.

Currently, with the creation of new Union Territories and States in the country, the total number of States and Union Territories in India has gone up to 28 and 8 respectively.

List of States and Union Territories in India 2023

India is a federal fusion composed of 28 states and 8 union territories with a total of 36 entities. After the removal of Article 370 by the government, the state of Jammu and Kashmir was divided into two union territories: Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. Of these two, Ladakh does not have a legislature. Below is a list of all these States and Union Territories in India:

Union Territories in India:

  1. Delhi
  2. Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  3. Chandigarh
  4. Puducherry
  5. Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli
  6. Lakshadweep
  7. Jammu and Kashmir
  8. Ladakh

States in India:

  1. Andhra Pradesh
  2. Assam
  3. Arunachal Pradesh
  4. Bihar
  5. Chhattisgarh
  6. Gujarat
  7. Goa
  8. Himachal Pradesh
  9. Haryana
  10. Jharkhand
  11. Kerala
  12. Karnataka
  13. Maharashtra
  14. Madhya Pradesh
  15. Manipur
  16. Mizoram
  17. Meghalaya
  18. Nagaland
  19. Odisha (Orissa)
  20. Punjab
  21. Rajasthan
  22. Sikkim
  23. Tamil Nadu
  24. Telangana
  25. Tripura
  26. West Bengal
  27. Uttarakhand
  28. Uttar Pradesh

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium