Who Nominates the 12 Members of the Rajya Sabha?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The 12 Members of the Rajya Sabha are nominated by the President of India. Nominated members are those who have practical experience or deep knowledge of arts, science, literature, and social service. A specific procedure for nominating Rajya Sabha members was formed to ease the process in which prominent people were elected without going through the election process.

Nomination of 12 members of the Rajya Sabha

According to the 4th Schedule [Articles 4(1) and 80(2)], 12 members are nominated by the President of India to the Rajya Sabha for a term of six years.

The present list of nominated members of the Rajya Sabha is as follows:

  1. Mahesh Jethmalani: He has excelled in the field of law and stands for Bharatiya Janta Party.
  2. Sonal Mansingh: She is from the arts field and a member of the Bharatiya Janta Party.
  3. Ram Shakal: He is an eminent member of the Bharatiya Janta Party who has done a lot of social work.
  4. Rakesh Sinha: He is one of the prominent Bharatiya Janta Party members with a great hold on Literature.
  5. Rajan Gogoi: He is an independent member of the field of law.
  6. Veerendra Heggade: He is a social activist who doesn’t belong to any party.
  7. P. T. Usha: She is an international sports player and an independent member.
  8. Ilaiyaraaja: He is also an independent member who has excelled in the field of music.
  9. V. Vijayendra Prasad: He is from the field of cinema and is an independent member.
  10. Shri Gulam Ali: He is from Jammu and Kashmir and was nominated by President Droupadi Murmu to fill the vacancy caused due to retirement of one of the nominated members.

NOTE: Of the 12 seats of the nominated members, two seats are still vacant.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium