What are Gulf Countries and Why are They Called Gulf Countries?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: September 25th, 2023

The gulf countries lie on the Persian Gulf border. The Gulf countries are Bahrain, Kuwait, Iraq, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and The United Arab Emirates.

List of Gulf Countries

Countries are gulf countries because they lie on the border of the Persian Gulf. Gulf countries are:

  1. Bahrain
  2. The United Arab Emirates.
  3. Kuwait
  4. Oman
  5. Iraq
  6. Qatar
  7. Saudi Arabia

Also, these countries except Iraq are part of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC).

The term “Gulf countries” is a generic one that can mean many different things. The phrase “gulf countries” generally refers to the countries in the Middle East’s Persian Gulf/Arabian Gulf region, which may include any or all of the countries on the Arabian Peninsula that connects Asia and Africa. However, the source and context often determine which of those nations are and are not referred to as “gulf countries.” Whether the nations are categorised according to geographic location, political or cultural similarity, or both, is crucial.

Geographically, the eight nations that border the Persian Gulf are referred to as “gulf countries.” In terms of sociopolitics, it may refer to the eight countries that make up the transcontinental Arab League that are situated in the area, or it may refer to the seven Arab Gulf States (Arabic-speaking nations that border the Persian Gulf). The six nations that make up the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), a regional intergovernmental organisation, may also be referred to by the word.

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium