When India Won the First World Cup?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: September 25th, 2023

India won the first World Cup on 1983 by defeating West Indies in the finals at Lord’s cricket ground under the captaincy of Kapil Dev. The Indian cricket team won the World Cup in 1983, 2007, and 2011 whereas they were also a runner-up in 2003 and semifinalists four times in 1987, 1996, 2015, and 2019.

About Cricket World Cup

The Cricket World Cup (formally known as the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup)is the One Day International (ODI) cricket championship. The event is held every four years by the sport’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), with qualifying rounds leading to the final tournament.


When India Won the First World Cup?

On 25 June 1983, India won the first world cup by defeating West Indies with 43 runs under the captaincy of Kapil Dev at Lord’s cricket ground.  

Related Links:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium