Which is the Summer Capital of Ladakh?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

Leh is the summer capital of Ladakh. Prior to the independence, Leh used to be the summer capital of Ladakh while Skardu was the winter capital. However, after getting the status of Union Territory in August 2019, Leh and Kargil have been declared as the joint capitals of Ladakh. Leh is now the summer capital of Ladakh while Kargil is the winter capital. Leh has an area of 9.15 Km sq. with a population of 30,870 as per the 2011 census.

Summer Capital of Ladakh

At the present day, Leh is the summer capital of Ladakh. Ladakh has been made a Union Territory on 31st October 2019. Thus, Ladakh now has two capitals, the winter capital and the summer capitalKargil and Leh respectively. Before the independence of India in 1947, Skardu was the capital of Ladakh, but after August 15, 1947, India was divided into two parts.

Skardu is now in Pakistan, and Leh has become the new capital of Ladakh. It is a cold desert climate where the temperature could go as low as -40 degrees celsius. It is governed by the “Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council”.

Let us look at some of the salient features of the summer capital of Ladakh, which is Leh.

  • Ladakh is located in the western Himalayas.
  • It has a cultural and historical similarity to Tibet and is also known as ‘Little Tibet’.
  • It has an area of 59, 146 sq. km. The people of Ladakh speak Purgi and Ladakhi languages.
  • Ladakh has a population of 274,289 as per the 2011 census and is the second least populous union territory of India.
  • Ladakh forms an alluring part of India and is a famous tourist destination.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium