What is the Capital of Mizoram?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The capital of Mizoram is Aizawl city which was established in 1890. The Northeast Indian region’s seven sister states include Mizoram as one of their members. In the east, the state borders Myanmar, and in the west, Bangladesh. The largest city in the state and the capital of Mizoram is Aizawl, which has a population of about 293,416.

Capital of Mizoram

The words “Mizo” and “Ram,” which refer to the native population and land, are combined to form the name Mizoram. As a result, Mizoram literally means “the land of the Mizos.” Mizoram was earlier a union territory that was given the status of a state in 1972. Before that, it was a part of Assam and not a separate state.

The city of Aizawl was formally founded on February 25, 1890. Additionally, it serves as the administrative hub and is home to the civil secretariat, state assembly house, and all significant government offices.

  • Aizawl is the biggest city in the state, home to 293,416 people.
  • Prior to being renamed the Mizo Hills District in 1954, Mizoram was known as the Assam province’s Lushai Hills District.
  • Under the name Mizoram, it was made a union territory under central administration in 1972, and it attained statehood in 1987.


What is the Mizoram Capital?

The Mizoram capital is the city of Aizawl which happens to be the biggest city in the state. Aizawl consists of many official government buildings and offices and is the center of administration in the state of Mizoram. Since Aizawl is the Mizoram capital, it consists of all the important government offices like the civil secretariat and the state assembly house.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium