Administrative Units of Maharashtra Study Notes for MPSC Exam

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: September 25th, 2023

An administrative unit within a state government in an academic organization is an essential aspect of governance. Conceptually, administrative divisions are separate from dependent territories. In this article, we are providing you with the Administrative Units of Maharashtra study notes for the MPSC exam preparation.

Download BYJU’S Exam Prep App and prepare General Knowledge for Maharashtra State exams.

Administrative Units of Maharashtra

Administrative divisions are an integral part of the state. There is an extended network of smaller administrative units or territories with lesser control for better and effective governance. They work in a coordinated and hierarchical manner. Hence, the administrative division includes dependent territories and accepted administrative divisions. This topic is important for MPSC RajyasevaMPSC CombinedMPSC Group CMPSC CDPO and other Maharashtra State exams.


In India, the state of Maharashtra lies in the western and central parts of the country. The state has a long coastline (720 km) along the Arabian Sea. 

  • Maharashtra came into existence on 1 May 1960; the day is observed as Maharashtra Day. These districts are grouped into six administrative divisions shown below.
  • Based on the population, Maharashtra is the second largest state in India and 3rd in terms of geographical extent. 
  • As per Census 2011, 9.3% of the total population resides in Maharashtra, and the state is highly urbanized, with 45.2% of people living in urban areas.
  • Maharashtra has 35 districts, divided into six revenue divisions, i.e., Aurangabad, Amravati, Konkan, Pune, Nashik, and Nagpur, for administrative purposes.
  • Maharashtra has five central regions based on geographical, political, historical and cultural sentiments. These are:
  1. Konkan
  2. Desh (Pune Division)
  3. Khandesh
  4. Marathwada
  5. Vidarbha
  • Note: Maharashtra has a long tradition of having statutory bodies for planning at the district level.
  • To govern the rural areas for effective local self-governance, there are 33 Zilla Parishads, 351 Panchayat Samitis and 27,906 Gram Panchayats.

Urban areas are governed through 26 Municipal Corporations, 219 Municipal Councils, 7 Nagar Panchayats and 7 Cantonment Boards.


Name of division




Amaravati Division








Nagpur Division









Aurangabad Division

  • Aurangabad
  • Beed
  •  Latur
  • Jalna
  • Nanded
  • Osmanabad
  • Parbhani
  • Hingoli



Nashik Division

  • Jalgaon
  • Dhule
  • Nashik
  • Nandarbar
  • Ahmednagar


Western Maharashtra

Pune Division

  • Kolhapur
  • Solapur
  • Pune
  • Sangli
  • Satara


Nashik Administrative Division

  • The main place of the district – Nashik
  • Area – 15,530 sq. Km.
  • Population – 61,09,052 as per 2011 census
  • Talukas – There are 15 talukas in total – Nashik, Baglan (Satana), Malegaon, Surgana, Peth, Kalvan, Dindori, Chandwad, Nandgaon, Niphad, Yeola, Igatpuri, Sinnar, Trumbakeshwar, Deola.
  • It is bounded on the north by Dhule district, on the east by Jalgaon district, on the west by Thane district, on the south by Ahmednagar district, on the southeast by Aurangabad district, on the northeast by Dhule district and on the northwest by Dang and Surat.


Amravati Administrative Division

  • District Location – Amravati
  • Area – 12,210 sq. Km.
  • Population – 28,87,826 as per 2011 census
  • Talukas – There are total 14 talukas – Achalpur, Morshi, Daryapur, Amravati, Chandurbazar, Bhatkuli, Anjangaon (Surji), Nandgaon (Khan), Chikhaldara, Dharani, Warud, Tivasa, Chandur Railway, Dhamangaon Railway.
  • Border – Amravati district is bounded on the north by Madhya Pradesh, on the south by Yavatmal district and on the east by Nagpur and Wardha districts. Akola district is to the west and southwest.

Aurangabad Administrative Division

  • District Location – Aurangabad
  • Area – 10,107 sq. Km.
  • Population – 36,95,928 as per 2011 census
  • Talukas – There are 9 talukas in total – Kannada, Sillod, Soygaon, Khultabad, Vaijapur, Gangapur, Aurangabad, Paithan, Fulambri.
  • It is bounded on the north by Jalgaon district, on the east by Jalna district, on the south by Beed across the Godavari river, and on the west by Nashik district.

Pune Administrative Division

  • District Location – Pune
  • Area – 15,643 sq. Km.
  • Population – 94,26,959 as of 2011 census
  • Talukas – There are 14 talukas in total – Junnar, Ambegaon, Khed (Rajgurunagar), Indapur, Shirur, Maval (Wadgaon), Velhe, Pune City, Daund, Bhor, Haveli (Pune), Mulshi (Paud), Purandar (Saswad), Baramati .
  • It is bounded by Ahmednagar district on the north and east, Raigad district on the west and Satara district on the south. Southeast is Solapur and Northwest is Thane District.


Nagpur Administrative Division

  • District Location – Nagpur
  • Population – 46,53,171 as per 2011 census
  • Talukas – There are 15 talukas in total – Katol, Savner, Ramtek, Hingana, Nagpur (rural), Nagpur (city), Umred, Kamathi, Narkhed, Kalmeshwar, Mouda, Bhivapur, Kuhi, Parshivani, Deolapur.
  • Border – Chhidwada and Shivani districts of Madhya Pradesh are in the north of Nagpur district and Amravati district is in the northwest. It is bounded on the south by Chandrapur district, on the east by Bhandara district and on the west by Wardha district.

Mumbai Administrative Division

  • District Location – Mumbai
  • Area – 157 sq. Km.
  • Population – 31,45,966 as per 2011 census
  • Talukas – No.
  • Boundary – Mumbai suburbs to the north and the Arabian Sea to the southeast.

Note: Culturally, the Nashik district does not belong to the Khandesh region. Nashik and Ahmednagar share the same cultural pattern and are regarded as Gangathadi.

Before becoming part of the Vidarbha region of Maharashtra, Amaravati Division was a separate region of Central Provinces and Berar as the Berar Division.

Some highlights

  • Maharashtra is the wealthiest state in India.
  • It contributes 15% of India’s industrial output.
  • It is the world’s second-most populous first-level administrative country sub-division.
  • As per Census 2011, there are 35 districts, 378 urban centres, 535 Towns and 46662 villages in Maharashtra.
  • The top 5 most populous cities of Maharashtra are as follows:
  1. Greater Mumbai
  2. Pune
  3. Nagpur
  4. Nashik 
  5. Thane
  • Mumbai is the capital of Maharashtra.
  • Mumbai is also the financial capital of India.
  • Significant corporate headquarters and finance institutions, including India’s leading stock exchange and capital market and commodity exchange, are present here.

To download the PDF, click here:

Administrative Units of Maharashtra, Download in English

To access the content in Marathi, click here:

महाराष्ट्रातील प्रशासकीय एकके

Related Important Articles: 

महाराष्ट्रातील शहरे

संख्या मालिकेची मूलभूत माहिती

महाराष्ट्रीय पारंपरिक पोशाख

भारतातील क्षेपणास्त्र तंत्रज्ञान

कार्बन संयुगे

भौतिकशात्रातील काही मूलभूत संज्ञा

महाराष्ट्र भूगोल

भारतीय राज्यघटनेची निर्मिती

More From Us:

Maharashtra Static GK 

MPSC Current Affairs 2022: Download in Marathi & English

Important Government Schemes For MPSC 

NCERT Books for MPSC State Exam 2022

Maharashtra State Board Books PDF

MPSC GK Study Material: Complete Notes for MPSC Exam [Free]

Download BYJU’S Exam Prep App

Administrative Units of Maharashtra Study Notes for MPSC Exam Daily, Monthly, Yearly Current Affairs Digest, Daily Editorial Analysis, Free PDF’s & more, Join our Telegram Group Join Now
Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium