Who appoints the Prime Minister of India?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Prime Minister of India is appointed by the President, according to Article 75 of the Indian Constitution. A Prime Minister must be a member of either House of Parliament – Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha. If he is not a member of Parliament, he has to be elected to either of the two Houses within six months of his appointment.

Appointment of Prime Minister of India

According to Article 75 of the Indian Constitution, the Prime Minister is selected by the President, and all other ministers shall also be appointed by him on the advice of the Prime Minister.

According to the rules of Parliament, the President will appoint the leader of the party in the majority as the Prime Minister. And, when there is no clarity on the majority of a party, the President can exercise his discretion in appointing the Prime Minister. Check out other posts’ appointments below:

  • The Chief Justice of India is appointed by the President.
  • The President appoints the Speaker of the Lok Sabha.
  • The President and Vice President are elected by the Electoral College of India.
  • The Chief Ministers and other ministers of the state are appointed by the Governor.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium