What is the Size of the Council of Ministers?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The size of the Council of Ministers shall not exceed 15% of the total strength of the Lok Sabha. The 91st Amendment Act of 2003 added this provision. The Council of Ministers is made up of three types of ministers: cabinet ministers, ministers of state, and deputy ministers. A deputy prime minister may also be included.

Size of the Council of Ministers

The Council of Ministers is the highest executive body of the Government of India that exercises administrative authority in the nation and advises the President of India. The Lok Sabha or the lower house (House of the People) of the Indian parliament, is the body to which the Council of Ministers is collectively accountable. The constitutional provisions for the council of ministers are as follows:

In India, a smaller executive body known as the Union Cabinet, which is a subset of the Union Council of Ministers and holds significant portfolios and ministries of the government, is the ultimate decision-making body.

The entire council of ministers, not just the minister, is in charge when a bill filed by a minister in the Lok Sabha is rejected by it. In order to assist in the formation of a new government, the council of ministers must resign after losing the Lok Sabha’s confidence.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium