What are the Four Main Ideals Enshrined in the Preamble?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Four Main Ideals Enshrined in the Preamble are Justice, Liberty, Equality, and Fraternity. The Preamble serves as the introduction to the Constitution. It contains the guiding principles on which the entire Constitution is based. It provides a benchmark for examining and evaluating every law or government activity to determine whether it is beneficial or bad.

Four Main Ideals Enshrined in the Preamble

The Preamble can be understood as an ‘index’ to the contents of the Indian Constitution. It introduces the basic philosophy, structure, and ideology behind the formation of the constitution. It established the following four principles:

  • Justice: Justice has three components at the social, economic, and political levels.
  • Freedom: The Preamble defines fundamental rights as freedom of opinion, expression, belief, belief, and worship.
  • Equality: It implies that no group in the society has any special privileges and everyone has access to equal opportunities, without any prejudice.
  • Fraternity: The democratic system will work well only when there is a sense of brotherhood and unity among the people of the country.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium