How many Ideals of Preamble are there?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

There are four major Ideals of the Preamble in the constitution of India namely Justice, Equality, Liberty, and Fraternity. The preamble is the introduction to the constitution, and it contains the philosophy on which the constitution has been built. The preamble of the Indian constitution provides a standard to examine and evaluate the law and action of the government, to find out if it is good or bad.

Ideals of Preamble

The major ideals written in the Preamble of the Indian constitution are as follows

  • Justice: Every citizen of India will have economic, social, and political justice. It represents the rule of law, arrangements of equivalent rights, and opportunities for the public.
  • Equality: Every citizen of India will be provided with equality of status and opportunity.
  • Liberty: Every citizen of India will have the liberty of belief, thought, expression, and worship.
  • Fraternity: All the citizens of India are assured of the dignity, unity, and integrity of the Nation.

Preamble of the Indian Constitution

According to the Preamble, the Constitution of India follows the solemn resolve of the people of India to constitute India as a Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic and to secure the well-defined objects set out in the Preamble.

Sovereignty denotes the supreme and ultimate power. In simple words, the preamble is the soul of the Indian constitution.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium