How many parts are there in the Indian Constitution?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 3rd, 2022

As per 2021 data, there are 25 parts in the Indian Constitution along with 448 provisions. Earlier, there were 395 provisions divided into 22 parts. The course of Indian politics has changed significantly as a result of all these amendments.

25 parts of the Indian Constitution

  • As of December 2021, there have been 104 amendment acts passed to the Indian Constitution.
  • The Constitution establishes a parliamentary government with some unitary characteristics and a federal framework.
  • The President is the official head of the Union's Executive under the Constitution.
  • According to Article 79 of the Indian Constitution, the President and the two Houses known as the Rajya Sabha and the House of the People make up the Council of the Parliament of the Union (Lok Sabha).
  • The President exercises duties with the advice of the Prime Minister and the Ministers Council under Article 74(1) of the Constitution.
  • The Council of Ministers, which has the Prime Minister as its head, thus has the actual executive power.
  • The Constitution of India is a union of states, usually referred to as Bharat.
  • It has a parliamentary form of government and is a Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic.
  • The Indian Constitution, approved by the Constituent Assembly on November 26, 1949, and took effect on January 26, 1950, governs the Republic.


How many parts are there in the Indian Constitution?

The original Indian Constitution included 395 clauses separated into 22 parts. As of 2021, the Indian Constitution has 25 sections and 448 clauses.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates