Who is the President of India?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 4th, 2022

Smt. Droupadi Murmu is the President of India. She is the 15th President who took over from Kovind on 25 July 2022. She is the first person to represent the tribal community and the second woman president after Pratibha Patil. Smt Draupadi Murmu belongs to the Bharathiya Janata Party and hails from Rairangpur in the Mayurbhanj district in Odisha. She was born on 20 June 1958.

Facts about Smt Draupadi Murmu

  • Smt Draupadi Murmu was married to Shyam Charam Murmu, who later died.
  • Her two sons also passed away. Initially, she became the councilor of the Rairangpur Nagar Panchayat.
  • In 2000, she became the Chairperson of the Panchayat.
  • She also served as the National Vice-President of BJP Scheduled tribes Morcha.
  • She fought the Presidential election as the NDA's Presidential Candidate against Shri Yashwant Sinha of the Joint Opposition's nominee and won the election by a comfortable margin.


Who is the President of India?

The President of India is Smt Droupadi Murmu, the 15th President, taking over on 25 July 2022 from Kovind. Earlier she served as the Governor of Jharkhand and, Minister of State for Fisheries and Animal, Minister of State for Commerce and Transport.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates