When was the Rajya Sabha first constituted?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 3rd, 2022

On April 3, 1952, the Rajya Sabha was first constituted. The Rajya Sabha cannot be dissolved because it is a permanent House. The Montague-Chelmsford reforms of 1919, which established a bicameral legislature, the Legislative Assembly (future Lok Sabha), and the Council of States, gave rise to the Rajya Sabha (future Rajya Sabha).

Facts about Rajya Sabha Sittings

  • After the Government of India Act 1919, the Council of States was established in 1921.
  • There was a great deal of discussion in the Constituent Assembly about whether to create a Second Chamber in the House after India gained independence and became a republic in 1950.
  • A bicameral legislature was chosen to satisfy the federal requirements of a country as diverse and large as India.
  • It was intended to be a separate house from the House of the People in terms of membership and election procedures (Lok sabha).
  • The Council of States was the name of the Parliament's upper house.
  • On April 3, 1952, following the first general elections, the first Council of States was established.
  • On August 23, 1954, the Council changed its name to Rajya Sabha.
  • Dr. S. Radhakrishnan served as the first Rajya Sabha chairman and the upper house's ex officio chairman as the nation's vice president.
  • S V Krishnamoorthy Rao served as the Rajya Sabha's first deputy chairman.


When was the Rajya Sabha first constituted?

The Rajya Sabha was first created on April 3, 1952. Because the Rajya Sabha is a perpetual House, it cannot be disbanded.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates