Who Elects the Members of Rajya Sabha?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The electoral college of the elected members of the State Assembly elects the members of the Rajya Sabha using a proportional representation system and a single transferable vote. In order to elect each union territory’s MPs to the Rajya Sabha indirectly, members of an electoral college were constituted specifically for that purpose. This election is carried out using the single transferable vote and a proportional representation system.

Election of Members of the Rajya Sabha

The Indian Constitution places a limit of 250 members in the Rajya Sabha, also known as the Council of States, which is the upper house of the Indian Parliament. Along with the Deputy Chairman, who has been legally selected by the members, the Vice-President of India serves as the ex-officio chairman of the house. The Rajya Sabha cannot be dissolved because it is an everlasting body.

  • Using a proportional representation system, the elected members of the state legislative assemblies elect the members of the Rajya Sabha.
  • There is an unequal representation of States in the Rajya Sabha. It is based on the population. States with more inhabitants will have more Rajya Sabha seats than states with fewer inhabitants.
  • Proportional Representation with the Single Transferable Vote principle is used to hold elections.
  • The population of a state influences its representation in the Rajya Sabha.
  • Rajya Sabha members who reside in Union Territories are indirectly elected by members of an electoral college created for this purpose.
  • Based on their expertise and contributions in the fields of art, literature, science, and social service, the President suggests 12 people to the Rajya Sabha for consideration.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium