What is the full form of PESA?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 6th, 2022

The full form of PESA is the Panchayats Extension to Scheduled Areas Act. It is legislation that extends the provision of Panchayats to the fifth plan area. Tribal populations dominate these areas.

Full Form of PESA

  • The Indian government passed the Provisions of the Panchayats (Extension to Scheduled Areas) Act, 1996, also known as PESA, to give residents of India's Scheduled Areas access to traditional Gram Sabhas as a form of self-governance.
  • Areas defined by the Fifth Schedule of the Indian Constitution are referred to as scheduled areas.
  • Ten states in India comprise scheduled areas where tribal tribes predominate in the population.
  • According to Part IX of the Constitution, neither the 73rd Amendment nor the Panchayati Raj Act of the Indian Constitution applied to the Scheduled Areas.
  • Scheduled Areas are subject to the provisions of Part IX of the Constitution, with a few changes and exclusions.


Operational guidance in the form of PESA Rules is vitally necessary to guarantee that PESA is executed.

  • Yet, PESA has suffered due to state governments' lack of interest in making the PESA rules transparent.
  • Fifteen years after the announcement of PESA, the first State to publish the regulations was Andhra in 2011.
  • Additionally, the PESA rules for Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Maharashtra have been shared with the public.
  • Telangana, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, and Gujarat are the six remaining states that have not yet adopted PESA regulations.


What is the full form of PESA?

The Panchayats Extension to Scheduled Areas Act (PESA), which was introduced in 1996, is known by its full name. The Indian government approved a bill to give residents of the country's Scheduled Areas access to self-governance through the conventional Gram Sabhas.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates