Who is a Municipal Councillor?

By Balaji

Updated on: February 17th, 2023

Municipal councillors are the elected members of the local municipal corporations and the representatives of the citizens in a fixed place. They are elected during the local body elections held in each state every five years. They represent a local political party or fight as independents who do not represent any political organization.

Table of content

  • 1. Role of Municipal Councillors (more)
  • 2. Who is a Municipal Councillor? (more)

Role of Municipal Councillors

Municipal Councils, also referred to as Municipalities, Nagar Palikas, or Nagar Palika Parishads, are urban local government entities that oversee cities with at least 100,000 inhabitants. There are exceptions to this rule though, as previously Nagar Palikas were considered urban centres with a population of over 20,000, including all urban areas with populations under 100,000. Some of the Role and Responsibilities of the Municipal Councillors are:-

  • Taking part in the creation and assessment of the municipality’s programmes.
  • Working to advance the rights and interests of the citizens in the local governments they have been chosen to represent.
  • Take part in the municipal mayor’s election.
  • Take care of civic-related issues like road construction, infrastructure development, issues with town planning, and waste management disposal.
  • Activities that support education, public health regulations, the welfare of the community, public safety, and other local development issues.
  • Promote development-related, cultural, and other aesthetic-focused programmes.
  • Approval of regional planning initiatives.
  • Pay attention to the problems locals are having, then deal with them.

Councillors are elected for a four-year term of office and represent the people living in the ward, they are elected to on City Council, dealing with a range of problems and priorities for their local community.


Who is a Municipal Councillor?

Municipal council members are elected representatives of the people in a particular location who serve on local municipal corporations. They are chosen during the local body elections, which are held every five years in each state.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium