How many Pesa Districts are there in Maharashtra?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

There are 12 Pesa districts in Maharashtra State that include 59 Talukas. The Indian government passed the Panchayats (Extension to Scheduled Areas) Act (PESA), also known as the Panchayati Raj Act, to encompass “Scheduled areas” not covered by the 73rd amendment to the Indian Constitution. The provisions of Part IX do not apply to the areas listed on the Fifth Schedule.

Pesa Districts in Maharashtra

The Parliament has the authority to extend this Part to such locations with the modifications and exclusions it deems appropriate. These guidelines were used by Parliament to pass the Panchayats (Extension to the Scheduled Areas) Act, also known as the PESA Act or the extension act.

The Objectives of Pesa Districts in Maharashtra are as follows:

  • To incorporate the designated locations into Part IX’s provisions.
  • To provide the tribal inhabitant’s self-rule.
  • To have a participative democratic village government.
  • To develop participatory government by custom.
  • To protect and preserve the indigenous population’s traditions and customs.
  • To grant panchayats authority that is appropriate for tribal needs.
  • To stop panchayats at a higher level from adopting the role of panchayats at a lower authority.


How many Pesa Districts are there in Maharashtra?

The PESA Act covers 59 Talukas in 12 Districts of the State of Maharashtra. The 73rd amendment to the Indian Constitution, widely known as the Panchayati Raj Act, does not apply to “Scheduled areas,” hence the Indian government established a law known as Panchayats (Extension to Scheduled Areas) or PESA.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium