Who is the Present Chairman of NCST?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Present Chairman of NCST is Harsh Chauhan. The NCST is empowered under Article 338(a), inter alia, to oversee the implementation of a number of safeguards provided to STs under the Constitution, under other laws for the time being in force, or under other orders of the Government given, plus assess how well they are working.

Present Chairman of NCST

Through the 89th Constitutional Amendment Act of 2003, which amended Article 338 and added a new Article 338(A), the NCST was established with effect from February 19, 2004, and is now a part of the Constitution.

  • Its members include a Chairman, a Vice-Chairman, and 3 other members who are elected by the President by means of a warrant signed with his seal.
  • There should be at least one female member.
  • The terms of service for the Chairman, Vice-Chairman, and other members are three years.
  • Members cannot be appointed for more than two terms.
  • The vice president has the rank of minister of state, and the other members have the rank of secretary to the government.
  • The Speaker holds the rank of a Union Cabinet Minister. Presently Harsha Chauhan is the President of NCST.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium