Who is the First Woman President of India?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

Pratibha Patil is the First Woman President of India who served from 2007-2012. She was the 12th President of India after APJ Abdul Kalam. Apart from being the 1st woman President of India, Pratibha Patil was also the first Maharashtrian to become President.

First Woman President of India

Pratibha Patil was sworn to be the first female president of India and the 12th President on 25 July 2007. Pratibha Devisingh Patil was also the Governor of Rajasthan from 2004-2007. She was the UPA Nomination for India’s President.

  • She is an Indian politician and lawyer who served as the 12th President of India from 2007 to 2012. She became the first woman President of India.
  • In 1962, she was elected to the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly for the Jalgaon constituency at the age of 27.
  • After that, she won the Muktainagar (formerly Adalabad) constituency on four consecutive occasions between 1967 and 1985.
  • She was elected as a member of Parliament representing the Amravati constituency in 1991.

Facts about the First Woman President of India

As stated above, the first woman President of India is Ms. Pratibha Patil. More details about her life have been shared below:

  • She was born on December 19th, 1934, to Narayan Rao Patil in the Jalgaon district of Maharashtra.
  • In 2007, she became the 12th President of India and served as the same till 2012.
  • She is a member of the Indian National Congress
  • Pratibha Patil was a Lok Sabha member from 1991 to 1996.

Articles related to the President of India

The Indian Constitution comprises three articles that mention information and guidelines concerning the President of India.

  • Article 74: Describe the President of India. It states that the council of ministers should advise and aid the president.
  • Article 75: President appoints the Prime Minister and other ministers in consultation with the Prime Minister.
  • Article 78: states that the PM must communicate all the important decisions taken by the council of ministers and members of the parliament to the president.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium