What are the Powers of the President?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The powers of the President include Financial powers, Diplomatic powers, Legislative powers, Military powers, Judicial powers, Pardoning Powers, Executive or Appointment powers, and Emergency powers. The President of India is the Republic of India’s state head. The President’s powers are classified into eight categories. In India, the post of the President is the highest constitutional position. They have all of the superpowers associated with each sector of the country.

Powers of the President

The President is the nominal leader of the executive branch, the nation’s first citizen, and the commander-in-chief of the Army Forces. The President has the authority to administer organizational demands as well as to expand clearances for national crimes.

  1. Financial powers: A monetary bill can only be presented in the parliament with the President’s proposal. The President can apply the Annual Financial Statement before the parliament, i.e., the Union budget.
  2. Diplomatic powers: All international accords and agreements are bargained and finished on behalf of the President, and the President only represents India in international forums and affairs.
  3. Legislative powers: The President is the head of the Parliament of India, which participates in lawmaking. The President calls both houses (Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha) of the parliament and can discontinue any session.
  4. Executive or Appointment powers: The President of the Indian Union will be tied by his ministers’ advice.
  5. Judicial powers: The President must maintain, defend and safeguard India’s constitution and law. The President also appoints the Chief Justice of India and other judges.
  6. Military powers: The President is the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces and can declare battle or conclude peace on the advice of the Union Council of Ministers.
  7. Pardoning Powers: The President is designated with the authorities to grant pardons during a sentence for an offense against Union law or punishment by a military court.
  8. Emergency powers: The President can declare three types of emergencies: financial, state, and national under articles 352, 356 & 360.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium