What is the Full Form of PESA?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Panchayats Extension to Scheduled Areas Act is the Full Form of PESA. It is legislation that extends the Panchayat provision to the fifth plan area. These places are dominated by tribal inhabitants. Scheduled areas are those defined by the Fifth Schedule of the Indian Constitution.

Full Form of PESA

The Provisions of the Panchayats (Extension to Scheduled Areas) Act, 1996, popularly known as PESA, was passed by the Indian government to provide inhabitants of India’s Scheduled Areas with access to traditional Gram Sabhas as a form of self-governance. Ten Indian states have designated zones where tribal groups predominate in the population.

According to Part IX of the Indian Constitution, neither the 73rd Amendment nor the Panchayati Raj Act applies to Scheduled Areas. With a few exceptions and revisions, Scheduled Areas are subject to the provisions of Part IX of the Constitution.

Rules of PESA

Operational guidance in the form of PESA Rules is vitally necessary to guarantee that PESA is executed.

  • However, PESA has suffered as a result of the state government’s unwillingness to make the PESA rules transparent.
  • Andhra was the first state to publish the regulations under PESA fifteen years after it was announced.
  • Furthermore, the PESA guidelines for Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Maharashtra have been made public.
  • The six remaining states that have not yet adopted PESA legislation are Telangana, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, and Gujarat.


What is the Full Form of PESA?

The full form of PESA is Panchayats Extension to Scheduled Areas Act, which was introduced in 1996. The Indian government has passed a measure that will allow people of the country’s Scheduled Areas to exercise self-government through traditional Gram Sabhas.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium