What are the 3 Levels of Governance in India?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The 3 levels of Governance in India are the central government, the states, and the local governments. Human society has developed into an organized state after going through many social, political, and geological disasters. For the community and the country to function well, it requires a system of laws, rules, strength, and a commitment to adopt a proper mindset.

Table of content


Levels of Governance

In various government units, regions, or communities, the term government is generally used to refer to a system of legislative policy-making and operational and organizational structure. The three levels of governance in India are the central government, state, and local governments.

  • The local, state, and federal governments each operate at the village or town level, while the local, state, and federal governments each operate at the national level.
  • Governments have the power to make decisions, establish laws and enforce them.
  • If a person feels that the rules of the government are unjust, they can appeal to the judiciary.
  • The Central Government of India is the executive branch of the Republic of India.
  • A separate federal government with a different organizational structure is required under the Constitution, as state government is covered by Articles 153-167 in Part 6 of the Constitution.
  • The management of local affairs by elected local officials is known as local government, which includes rural and urban governments.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium