What are the Physical Features of India? Explain in Points

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The physical features of India include mountains, seas, islands, deserts, plateaus, and rivers. India is a diverse nation with distinctive geography, economy, and cultural elements. India’s varied physical characteristics make it a complete geographical study. In essence, they are what a person can see around them.

Physical Features of India

India is a geographically and culturally diverse country. With mountains, plains, plateaus, islands, and deserts, India’s physical landscape is diverse and expansive. India’s physical characteristics are as follows:

  • Himalayas: They are a series of extremely high mountain ranges extending from the northern, northeastern, and western regions of India. They are further divided into three more compact sections, the Shivalik, the Himachal range, and the Himadri range.
  • North Indian Plains: They are made up of a vast plain area or alluvial landmass. The Gangetic Plain, the Punjab Plain, and the Brahmaputra Plain are three more sections of the northern Plain.
  • Great Indian Desert: It includes Gujarat and Rajasthan. The Thar is the largest desert with dunes and an arid climate and these regions receive less than 150 mm of rainfall annually.
  • Peninsular Plateau: This includes the Deccan Plateau and the Central Highlands. One of the oldest landforms in the country is found in these areas.
  • Coastal Plains: While the Western Coastal Plains lie between the Arabian Sea and the Western Ghats, The Eastern Coastal Plains lie between the Eastern Ghats and the Bay of Bengal.
  • Islands: Lakshadweep Islands and Andaman and Nicobar Islands are the two important islands that are part of Indian territory.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium