What are Four Types of Agriculture?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Four Types of Agriculture are Shifting Cultivation, Subsistence farming, Pastoralism, and Intensive farming. Despite its variable nature, agriculture is the most widespread activity. It is classified according to the type of crop planted, the scale and intensity of cultivation, the level of mechanization, livestock combinations, and how farm produces is distributed.

What is Agriculture?

Agriculture plays a significant role in increasing the country’s revenue in India. New farming techniques assist farmers in increasing their income. Agriculture is classified into four types:

Types of Agriculture
Shifting Cultivation Concerned with the rotation of crops
Subsistence Farming This type refers to the practice of raising livestock or growing crops only for self and not for trade purposes.
Pastoralism Related to animals herding
Intensive Farming Focuses on increasing the input and the resultant output per unit of agricultural land

Four Types of Agriculture

Agriculture in India is classified into several types. The type of crop planted in fields serves as the foundation for categorization. The types of agriculture mentioned above are discussed in detail below.

  • Subsistence Farming: This farming type is for small farmers’ families. They use less technology for farming and more manpower.
  • Shifting cultivation: It is a farming process that is used to be done in forest areas in India, America, Africa, and other continents.
  • Intensive Farming: Rotational grazing is one of the best examples of Intensive farming. Here, a large number of production is done on a small part of the land.
  • Pastoralism: It is related to animal husbandry. In this process, domesticated animals get left in a large part of the land for grazing.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium