TET Full Form – What is the Full-Form of TET?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: October 10th, 2023

TET full form is Teacher Eligibility Test, and it is a vital examination conducted in India to assess the eligibility and proficiency of aspiring teachers. Introduced to improve the quality of education, TET aims to ensure that only qualified and competent individuals are entrusted with the responsibility of shaping young minds. This article provides a comprehensive overview of TET exams in India, covering its full form, objectives, exam conducting bodies, eligibility criteria, syllabus, application process, and concluding remarks.

Full-Form and Aim of TET Exams

TET stands for Teacher Eligibility Test. The primary aim of the TET exams in India is to establish a national standard for teachers’ selection, ensuring that they possess the essential qualities and skills required for effective teaching. It aims to strengthen the foundations of the education system by promoting well-qualified and skilled educators.

TET Exam Conducting Body

In India, there are primarily two types of Teacher Eligibility Tests (TET) based on the levels of teaching:

Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET):

  • The CTET is a national-level TET conducted by the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE).
  • It is applicable for candidates aspiring to teach at the primary level (Classes I to V) and the upper primary level (Classes VI to VIII) in schools affiliated with the Central Government, i.e., Kendriya Vidyalayas (KVs) and Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas (JNVs), as well as schools under the administrative control of Union Territories.

State Teacher Eligibility Test (State TET):

  • Each state in India conducts its own State Teacher Eligibility Test (State TET).
  • These tests are conducted by the respective state education boards or authorities. State TETs are applicable for candidates who wish to teach at the primary level (Classes I to V) and upper primary level (Classes VI to VIII) in schools under the respective state governments.
  • The State TETs may have different names in different states, such as Uttar Pradesh Teacher Eligibility Test (UPTET) in Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra Teacher Eligibility Test (MAHA TET) in Maharashtra, Karnataka Teacher Eligibility Test (KARTET) in Karnataka, etc.
  • The syllabus and eligibility criteria for State TETs may also vary from state to state.

Eligibility Criteria for TET Exams

The eligibility criteria for TET exams may vary between the Central and State-level tests. However, some common requirements include:

  1. Educational Qualifications: Candidates must have completed their senior secondary (10+2) or its equivalent with a minimum percentage as specified by the respective exam authorities.
  2. Minimum Marks: Applicants should secure the minimum required marks in the qualifying examination as per the TET guidelines.
  3. Teacher Education: Aspiring primary school teachers (Classes I-V) must possess a diploma in elementary education (D.El.Ed) or a Bachelor of Elementary Education (B.El.Ed). For those aiming to teach upper primary classes (Classes VI-VIII), a Bachelor of Education (B.Ed) degree is essential.
  4. Age Limit: There is usually no upper age limit for TET exams.
  5. Citizenship: Applicants must be Indian citizens or meet the state government’s requirements for residency.

Exam Pattern for TET Exams

The exam pattern for TET exams varies between the Central and State-level tests. However, the core components usually include multiple-choice questions (MCQs) covering various subjects and teaching aptitude. Here’s a generalized exam pattern for TET exams:

Exam Stage

Paper I (Primary Level)

Paper II (Upper Primary Level)

Classes Covered

Classes I to V

Classes VI to VIII


2.5 hours

2.5 hours

Number of Questions



Total Marks



Nature of Questions

Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs)

Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs)

Marking Scheme

Each correct answer carries 1 mark

Each correct answer carries 1 mark

Negative Marking

No negative marking

No negative marking

Syllabus for TET Exams

The TET syllabus is designed to assess the candidate’s proficiency in various aspects of teaching and subject knowledge. While the exact syllabus may differ between central and state-level exams, the core topics generally include:

  1. Child Development and Pedagogy – 30 Marks
  2. Language I and Language II (Language Proficiency) – 30 Marks
  3. Mathematics (for Paper I) – 30 Marks
  4. Environmental Studies (for Paper I) – 30 Marks
  5. Mathematics and Science OR Social Science (for Paper II) – 60 Marks

How to Apply for TET Exams?

The application process for TET exams is generally conducted online. Aspiring candidates need to follow these steps:

  1. Visit the official website of the respective exam conducting body (CTET or State TET).
  2. Read the detailed information brochure and understand the eligibility criteria.
  3. Register on the portal by providing the necessary personal and educational details.
  4. Upload scanned copies of essential documents such as educational certificates and photographs.
  5. Pay the prescribed application fee online through net banking, credit/debit card, or other available options.
  6. Submit the application form and take a printout of the confirmation page for future reference.

The Teacher Eligibility Test (TET) in India is a key part of keeping the quality of education high by making sure that only qualified teachers are given the job of teaching young minds. The general quality of education is improved by the TET exams, which are very thorough. This builds a strong foundation for the next generation. To do well on the TET and help the country grow as a whole, people who want to become teachers need to study hard and remember the specific syllabus and qualifying requirements.

Other Full Form Articles to Study:-

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium