How many articles are there in Indian Constitution?

By Shubhra Anand Jain|Updated : June 17th, 2022

There are 448 articles in the Indian Constitution. Originally, the Constitution of India consisted of the preamble and 395 articles, which was adopted on 26th November 1949. After several constitutional amendments, the updated constitution of India contains the preamble and 448 articles. 

Earlier, the 395 articles of the Constitution were categorized into 22 parts and 8 schedules. If you are wondering how many Articles are there in Indian Constitution now, the answer is that there are 448 Articles, which are grouped in 25 parts and 12 schedules.

Number of Articles in Indian Constitution

The Indian Constitution is a document that was drafted by the Constituent Assembly, consisting of members like Dr. B.R. Ambedkar, Jawaharlal Nehru, Rajendra Prasad, and more. The Indian Constitution has 448 articles in total. These articles are divided into 25 parts.

Earlier, the number of articles used to be 395. Many new articles were added to the Indian Constitution after several amendments throughout the years. The total number of articles in the Constitution is 448 now.

More Related Questions:-


write a comment

FAQ's on How many articles are there in Indian Constitution?

  • The total number of articles in Indian Constitution is 395. Ever since the Constitution was adopted on 26 November 1949, the number of articles has not changed. Although, the parts that the articles are grouped under have changed from 22 to 25 now. 

  • The Indian Constitution used to have 395 articles earlier. After several amendments through the years, the present version of the Constitution of India has 448 articles. The 448 articles are divided into 25 parts.

Related Posts

What is Rajamannar Commission?
What is Rajamannar Commission?Yesterday, 11 am|4 upvotes
What is Article 326?
What is Article 326?Yesterday, 11 am|4 upvotes

Follow us for latest updates