What do you mean by residuary powers?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 4th, 2022

Residuary powers are termed as powers that are not mentioned in the subject of the Constitution. According to the constitution, in all three lists, power is not present, i.e., the Union List, the State List, and the Concurrent List. The remaining entity is the power or authority to execute the new entity. The Constitution of India has divided powers between the Center and the different Indian state governments under the Seventh Schedule of the Constitution of India.

Residuary powers of the Legislation

  • The Seventh Schedule of the Constitution of India has three Schedules: Union List, State List, and Concurrent List. The Central Government has the power to make laws relating to entities that are available in the Central List.
  • Similarly, the governments of different Indian states have the power to make laws only based on the subjects that are provided in the list of the Indian Constitution.
  • Currently, there are sixty-one subjects on which various state governments can make laws as allowed by the Constitution of India.
  • Apart from the two rights that the Central and State Government of India have in various subjects, if there is a need to make any other policy as per the requirement of the situation, then such policies can be framed by the Central Government of India.
  • Policies formulated based on the need of the situation by the central government of India are known as residual powers.


What do you mean by residuary powers?

Residuary powers are special powers given to the Union Government by the Constitution. The Parliament can make any law based on any matter that is not a part of the State List or Concurrent List.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates