What are the types of bills in Parliament?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 3rd, 2022

There are two types of bills in the Parliament: Public bills (or government bills) and Private bills (also called private members’ bills). Although private and private members' bills follow the same general procedure and go through the same stages in the House, they differ in a few key ways.

Types of Bills in Parliament

The four categories listed below can also be used to categorize the bills introduced in Parliament.

Ordinary bills - These bills deal with anything that is not financial.

Money bills - These bills deal with monetary issues like taxes, public spending, etc.

Financial bills - These bills also deal with money-related issues (but differ from money bills).

Bills for a constitutional amendment – These bills aim to change certain aspects of the Constitution.

The Indian Parliament uses governmental acts to pass laws. After the parliament approves the draft bills, these acts are only included in the Indian Constitution.

  • Different bills are introduced in either chamber of the Parliament to pass a law.

The difference between public and private bills:

  • Unlike private laws, which only affect certain people and organizations, public legislation deals with issues affecting the entire population or select groups of residents.
  • A private bill offers some people benefits (including corporate bodies).


What are the types of bills in Parliament?

Public and private bills are the two types introduced in Parliament (or government bills). Also known as private members' bills, private bills. A legislative proposal before the government is called a bill.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates