What are the Levels of Government in India?

By Shivank Goel|Updated : September 5th, 2022

The Government works at three different levels in India, which are Local Government, State Government, and Central Government. Every state in India has a Legislative Assembly. People who contest and win elections at the state level become Members of the Legislative Assembly. People who contest and win elections at the Central level are known as Members of Parliament (MP). Local government is government at the village and district level.

Levels of Government in India

The governance of India is three-tiered. The highest rung of the ladder is occupied by the Central government. It is followed by the established State governments in each state. The lowest tier that is at the grassroots level is the Local Government (Panchayati Raj and Municipalities)

Government operates at the village or town level. They possess the authority to enact laws, make decisions, and carry them out. People can seek the judiciary if they believe that the laws created by the government are improper.

In a democracy, the people actually hold power since they elect all levels of government, directly and indirectly. People have the power to remove governments from office in the subsequent elections if they are dissatisfied with the decisions made by those in power. It is referred to as a representative democracy because the people elect the people who make policies for them.

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • The government works at three different levels to manage its responsibilities. The three levels are local, state, and central level.

  • India has its powers divided among three bodies- the Legislative, the Executive, and the Judiciary.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates