Which Indian States are Under AFSPA?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Indian States that are under AFSPA Act are Jammu and Kashmir, Nagaland, Assam, and Arunachal Pradesh. The Indian Armed Forces are given special authority under the (Armed Forces Special Power) AFSP Act, an act of the Indian Parliament, to uphold public order in “disturbed areas.”

Indian States Under AFSPA

AFSPA or the Armed Forces Special Powers Act is a regulation enacted by the Indian Parliament that gives special powers and controls to the Armed Forces over any state or community which might be described as a “disturbed area” as per Special Courts Act, 1976.

  • AFSPA Act has recently been released from several districts like Assam due to the improved law and order conditions and peace agreements with militant corporations in the state.
  • Several sections have criticized the acts for alleged concerns about human rights violations in the alleged areas of its enforcement.
  • National politicians such as P. Chidambaram and Saifuddin Soz of the Congress have argued for the repeal of the AFSPA, while others such as Amarinder Singh are opposed.
  • The Northeast has seen a reduction in force. For the first time since 1954, no army unit the size of a brigade is used to combat insurgency.
  • Only one brigade now handles the same task. However, some of the remaining army units have been transferred to the border regions.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium